Go to top of page

Geographical Indications Committee

The Wine Australia Act establishes a Geographical Indications Committee (GIC) with its primary role being consideration of applications for new Australian and foreign geographical indications (GIs). The GIC comprises members appointed by Wine Australia, including two members nominated by AGW.

In 2019–20, the GIC comprised:

  • Dennis Mutton, the Presiding Member appointed by Wine Australia
  • Phillip Laffer (AGW nominated member), and
  • Peter Hayes (AGW nominated member).

The GIC did not make any determinations of new geographical indications for wine in 2019–20.

The GIC considered an application for the determination of Wilyabrup as a geographical indication for wine but did not decide to make a final determination.