Go to top of page

Appendix 4: Glossary


ABARES Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences
ABBA Australian Biomass for Bioenergy Assessment
ACMF Australian Chicken Meat Federation Inc.
AECL Australian Egg Corporation Limited
AFIA Australian Fodder Industry Association
AME Apparent metabolisable energy
AOP Annual Operational Plan
APL Australian Pork Limited
APVMA Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
AWI Australian Wool Innovation
B/C Benefit–cost
CCRSPI Climate Change Research Strategy for Primary Industries
CRC Cooperative Research Centre
CRDC Cotton Research and Development Corporation
CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
DA Dairy Australia
DAWR Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
DEDJTR Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
DPI Department of Primary Industries
FSANZ Food Standards Australia New Zealand
ESD Ecologically sustainable development
FOI Act Freedom of Information Act 1982
FRR Public Governance, Performance and Accountability (Financial Reporting) Rule
GIS Geographic information system
GRDC Grains Research and Development Corporation
GST Goods and services tax
GVP Gross value of production
IRR Internal rate of return
MCV Managing climate variability
MIRR Modified internal rate of return
MLA Meat & Livestock Australia
MOU Memorandum of understanding
NFF National Farmers’ Federation
NPV Net present value
NRM Natural resource management
OAIC Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
OECD Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
PGPA Act Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013
PIRD Act Primary Industries Research and Development Act 1989
PSR Pythium soft rot
PVB Present value of benefits
PVC Present value of costs
R&D Research and development
RD&E Research, development and extension
RD4P R&D for Profit program
RDC Research and development corporation
RGA Ricegrowers’ Association
RIRDC Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation
RWA Rural Women’s Award