Go to top of page

Commissioners and staff

The Commission comprises its Chair and between four and twelve other Commissioners, appointed by the Governor‑General for periods of up to five years. Associate Commissioners can be appointed by the Treasurer for terms of up to five years or for the duration of specific inquiries. At 30 June 2019, there were twelve members of the Commission, including the Chair, and one Associate Commissioner, Professor Harvey Whiteford, appointed for an inquiry into mental health. Six Commissioners held part‑time appointments. A further full‑time member was appointed to commence on 1 July 2019.

The work of the Commission is assisted by employees who are employed under the Public Service Act 1999. In 2018‑19, the average staffing level was 168.

The Commission’s structure and senior staff at 30 June 2019 are shown in Commission structure and senior staff, 30 June 2019.

Commission structure and senior staff, 30 June 2019 Stewart PlainNote: Dr Catherine de Fontenay was appointed in April 2019 as a full-time Commissioner from 1 July 2019. Robert Fitzgerald's term as a Commissioner finished on 27 April 2019, after which he served as a special advisor until 30 June 2019.