Go to top of page

How the AUASB works

Flow chart showing The Minister at the top with the following being direct reports; Financial Reporting Council a direct report and the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board and the Office of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board. The Auditing and Assurance Standards Board has indirect report to the FRC and Project advisor groups and Consultative meetings.

The Minister

The Minister appoints the Chair of the AUASB. The Chair of the AUASB is accountable to the Minister regarding the operations of the AUASB and the Office of the AUASB.

Financial Reporting Council

Responsible to the Minister, the FRC provides broad strategic direction and advice to the AUASB and has oversight of the process for setting auditing and assurance standards in Australia. The FRC appoints Board members to the AUASB for various terms.


The AUASB an Australian non-corporate Government Entity responsible for making auditing standards under section 336 of the Corporations Act 2001 for the purposes of the corporations legislation. The AUASB also formulates auditing and assurance standards for other purposes and participates in and contributes to the development of a single set of international auditing standards for worldwide use. The AUASB’s vision and strategies are set out on page 7. Further detail on the AUASB’s functions are set out in Appendix A.

Board appointments may be made for a period of up to three years and retiring members are eligible for reappointment for a maximum of three terms.

The Board met ten times during the year. Attendance of members at these meetings is set out in Appendix B.

Office of the AUASB

The Office of the AUASB provides technical support and administrative services, information and advice to the AUASB. The Chair of the AUASB is also the Chief Executive Officer of the Office of the AUASB, however the CEO responsibilities have been delegated (to the maximum extent permitted) to the Managing Director.


Roger Simnett, Chair

Roger Simnett was appointed as Chair of the AUASB and CEO of the Office of the AUASB for a five-year term from 1 April 2017 until March 31, 2022.

The duties of the Chair and CEO of the AUASB are outlined in sections 235D to 235J of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001.

As Chair of the AUASB, he is also a member of the FRC and a member of NZAuASB. In September 2018 Roger was appointed to the IAASB as a board member.

The AUASB comprised an independent part-time Chair (appointed by the Minister) and 10 part-time members (appointed by the FRC).

The members during 2019-20 were:

Board Member


Appointment end date

Gareth Bird


December 2022 (2nd term)

Robert Buchanan

Chair, NZAuASB

Reciprocal member from 1 July 2016

Jo Cain

Non-Executive Director

December 2021 (3rd term)

Julie Crisp (Deputy Chair)

Northern Territory Auditor-General's Office

December 2023 (2nd term)

Klynton Hankin


December 2021

Noel Harding

UNSW Sydney

December 2023 (2nd term)

Rodney Piltz


December 2021

Carolyn Ralph


December 2021 (2nd term)

Justin Reid

J R Consulting

December 2022 (2nd term)


Robin Low

Non-Executive Director

Retired Decemer 2019

2019 AUASB Chair and Staff

Photo of Chair and Technical Staff of the AUASB