Go to top of page

Responsible ministers

The NTC is accountable to the Transport and Infrastructure Council (the Council). The Council includes Commonwealth, state and territory ministers responsible for transport and infrastructure, and the president of the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA). Members of the Council as at 30 June 2020 are:


The Hon Michael McCormack MP
Deputy Prime Minister; Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development

Australian Capital Territory

Mr Chris Steel MLA
Minister for Transport; Minister for City Services; Minister for Multicultural Affairs; Minister for Roads & Active Travel; Minister for Recycling & Waste Reduction; Minister for Tertiary Education

Mr Shane Rattenbury MLA
Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability; Minister for Corrections and Justice Health; Minister for Justice, Consumer Affairs and Road Safety, Minister for Mental Health

New South Wales

The Hon Andrew Constance MP
Minister for Transport and Roads

The Hon Paul Toole MP
Minister for Regional Transport and Roads

Northern Territory

The Hon Eva Lawler MLA
Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics; Minister for Environment and Natural Resources; Minister for Climate Change


The Hon Mark Bailey MP
Minister for Transport and Main Roads

The Hon Cameron Dick MP
Treasurer; Minister for Infrastructure and Planning

South Australia

The Hon Stephan Knoll MP
Minister for Transport, Infrastructure, Local Government; Minister for Planning


The Hon Michael Ferguson MP
Minister for Finance; Minister for Infrastructure and Transport; Minister for State Growth; Minister for Science and Technology; Leader of the House


The Hon Jacinta Allan MP
Minister for Transport Infrastructure

The Hon Ben Carroll MP
Minister for Public Transport; Minister for Roads and Road Safety

Western Australia

The Hon Rita Saffioti MLA
Minister for Transport; Minister for Planning

Australian Local Government Association

Mayor David O’Loughlin

New Zealand

The Hon Phil Twyford MP
Minister for Economic Development and Urban Development and Transport