Go to top of page

Patrons and benefacators


L Gordon Darling AC CMG (Founding Patron) Marilyn Darling AC (Founding Patron)

Jenny Morrison (Chief Patron)

Lucy Hughes Turnbull AO (Chief Patron 2015-19)

Margie Abbott (Chief Patron 2013-15)

Tim Mathieson (Chief Patron 2010-13)

Thérèse Rein (Chief Patron 2007-10)

Janette Howard (Chief Patron 1999-2007)

Visionary benefactors

Timothy Fairfax ac

Founding benefactors

L Gordon Darling AC CMG Marilyn Darling AC

John Schaeffer AO

Robert Oatley AO

Timothy Fairfax AC

The Ian Potter Foundation

The Liangis family

Estate of L Gordon Darling AC CMG


Gordon Darling Foundation Basil Bressler Bequest

Mary Isabel Murphy

Ian Darling AO

Patrick Corrigan AM

Sid and Fiona Myer Family Foundation Sidney Myer Fund

Major donors

Ian Darling AO

Mary Isabel Murphy and Rosalind Blair Murphy Ross Adler AC

Jillian Broadbent AC

Peter Weiss AO


Anthony Adair and Karen McLeod Adair

James Bain AM and Janette Bain

Patrick Corrigan AM

Philip Bacon AM

James Fairfax AO

Sir Roderick Carnegie AC

Farrell Family Foundation

Malcolm and Lucy Turnbull

Nevill Keating Pictures Ltd Ann Lewis AM

Mundango Charitable Trust Claudia Hyles OAM

Andrew Cannon Ross A Field Diana Ramsay AO

Peter Yates

Reconciliation Australia Limited

BHP Billiton

Newmont Mining Corporation

Rio Tinto Aboriginal Fund

Allanah Dopson and Nicholas Heyward

Alan Dodge AM

Graham Smith

Jim and Barbara Higgins

Alan J Foulkes and Mark G Cleghorn

Peronelle Windeyer

Wayne Williams Noel and Enid Eliot


Bob and Lindy Ross

Dr Anne Gray

Angus Trumble

Jillian Broadbent AC

Sid and Fiona Myer Family Foundation

The Myer Foundation

The Yulgilbar Foundation

Brandon Munro

Yasmin Allen

Dr Chong Lim Ong

Neil Archibald

Sarah White OAM

David and Jennie Sutherland Foundation

Sally White OAM

The Stuart Leslie Foundation

The Calvert-Jones Foundation

David and Pam McKee

Trent Birkett Harold Mitchell AC

Sony Music Entertainment Australia

Dr Helen Nugent AO

Mr Tim Bednall

King & Wood Mallesons Optus

Westpac Group

John Kaldor AO and Naomi Milgrom AO

Maliganis Edwards Johnson


Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Society, ACT

Dame Elisabeth Murdoch AC DBE

Jim and Barbara Higgins

Professor Frank Fenner AC CMG MBE

The Hon. Fred Chaney AO

The Hon. Paul Keating

Allanah Dopson

Wayne Williams

Dr Brian Crisp AM and Barbara Crisp


Gloria Kurtze

Jan and Gary Whyte

Jonathon Mills

Robyn Mills

Henry Gillespie

Dawn Waterhouse

Ruth and Peter McMullin

Andrew Freeman

Peta Brownbrooke-Benjamins and Mike Benjamins

Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Society, Hobart

Susan Armitage

Sally White OAM

Neilma Gantner

Jim Windeyer

Antonia Syme

Janet Whiting AM and Philip Lukies

Dr Justin Garrick and Dharini Ganesan Rasu

Dino Nikias OAM and Dimitra Nikias

Justice Mary Finn

Bill Farmer AO and Elaine Farmer

Tim Efkarpidis

Lauraine Diggins

Dr Sam Whittle and Heather Whittle Bob and Charlotte Nattey

Jennifer Bott AO

Sharon Pheeley

Dr Gene Sherman AM and Brian Sherman AM

Keith Bradley and Kerry O’Kane James O Fairfax AC

Sir Roderick Carnegie AC

Rupert Myer AO and Annabel Myer

Louise and Martyn Myer Foundation

Diana Carlton

Emeritus Professor Derek Denton AC and Dame Margaret Scott AC DBE

Harold Mitchell AC

Peter Jopling AM QC

Andrew and Liz Mackenzie

Patricia Patten

Tamie Fraser AO

Bruce Parncutt and Robin Campbell

Steven Skala AO and Lousje Skala

Dr Marguerite Hancock

Michael Kendall

Joan Adler


Dr John Yu AC

Reg Richardson AM

Jenny Brockie

Major General Steve Gower AO (Ret’d)

Frank and Barbara Lewincamp


Portrait donors 2019-20

Yvonne East Anonymous John Sandefur

Charles E Lloyd Jones and Kim Lloyd Jones

Noel McKenna

Robin Sellick

Sue Hughes and Steve Ralph

James Horan

Nicole Bentley

Charles Dennington

Tony Amos

Annual Appeal 2019-20

Judith Hurlstone

Wayne Williams

Lorraine Downey

Lesley Riley

Alison Swarbrick

Trevor Rice

Megan Douglas

David Campbell

Rick Forster and Carolyn Forster OAM

Gini Hole

Greg Cornwell AM

Philip Flood AO and Carole Flood

Claudia Hyles

Margaret Daly

Gena Ferguson

Meredith Hinchliffe

Gary James

Penny and Wal Jurkiewicz

Naomi Landau

Andrew Blanckensee and Julie Matthews

Christine Clark

Don and Rose Limn

Valerie and Terry Hull

Lorien Mader

Jane McCarty

Peter and Rosemary Ingle

Emma Noonan


John Hawkins

Margaret and Bill Pollock

Andrew Freeman FACS and Diana Pelyk

William Inveen

Graeme and Jill Mayo

David and Rosemary Kennemore

John Werrett

Dawn Waterhouse and Gowrie Waterhouse

Elizabeth Storrs


Richard Blavins

Michelle Fletcher

Vicki Brown


Jeffrey Frith

Clare Wall and Richard Landsdowne

Donald C Cocks

Ross Gough

The Hon Justice Debra Mullins AO

Tony and Anne Gilmour

Marylou Pooley and Dr Peter Pedersen

Terrence J Eichler

Matthew Brown

Emeritus Professor Ingrid Moses AO

Dr John Yu AO Marion Le AM

Liz Nield OAM


Maggie Shapley

Penny Moyes

Terry S Wills Cooke OAM

Helen Topor

Murrelia Wheatley

Hazel and Allan Wright

Linda Ward

Ted and Gerry Kruger

David and Jo Frecker

Marina Lobastov and David Burke

Elza Gericke

Patricia McGinn

Dr Louise Moran

Beth Tyerman

The Hon Penelope Wensley AC and Dr Stuart McCosker