Go to top of page

Audit and Risk Committee

0The Commission’s Audit and Risk Committee is responsible for providing independent advice and assurance to the CEO on the Commission’s financial and performance reporting responsibilities, risk oversight and management, and system of internal control. The Committee members are listed below. The Committee met four times in 2019–20 and reviewed and endorsed the Commission’s Financial Statements, the Internal Audit Report, Annual Performance Statements and Corporate Plan 2019–2023.

The Committee also reviewed and endorsed new or revised versions of governance documents including the Risk Management Policy and Framework, the Business Continuity Plan, delegations instruments, the Protective Security Plan and the Audit Committee Charter.

In 2019-20 the Commission established an internal audit function, which is responsible for delivering an internal audit program in line with the Committee’s guidance and subject to approval by the CEO. The Committee will exercise a governance role in relation to the internal audit function.

For further detail regarding the Committee's role and functions, see the Commission's Audit and Risk Committee Charter at: https://www.mentalhealthcommission.gov.au/about/policies.

Member name

Qualifications, knowledge, skills or experience (include formal and informal as relevant)

Number of meetings attended / total number of meetings

Total annual remuneration

Mr David Lawler

Mr Lawler has an extensive career in financial services holding Executive positions in the Commonwealth Bank of Australia as Executive General Manager, Finance – Premium Financial Services, Financial Controller – Institutional Banking and Group Auditor. He is the past Chairman on the National Board, Institute of Internal Auditors; Past member of the International Internal Auditing Standards Board of the Institute of Internal Auditors; past President, NSW Board of Governors, Institute of Internal Auditors; and fellow of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants. Mr Lawler has also had non-executive roles as a Chair or Member of numerous Audit Committees in private and Commonwealth sectors over the past 19 years.



Mr William Northcote

Mr Northcote has worked for over 36 years in leadership and senior management positions for not-for-profit and government entities. His roles included CEO, CFO and General Manager Corporate Affairs and as such brings valuable skills and experience in finance, risk oversight and management, systems of internal control, human resources, compliance and security in a Commonwealth government setting.



Ms Lyndall Soper

Ms Soper is the Deputy, Monitoring and Reform at the Commission. She joined the Commission in March 2020 after four years at the Department of Health where she held positions including Chief of Staff to Secretary – Ms Glenys Beauchamp and Acting First Assistant Secretary in Population Health and Sport Division. Ms Soper brings with her significant experience in policy development and policy implementation, project management, and leadership, having held senior executive positions across a variety of Commonwealth agencies including Environment, Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Industry, and Defence.



Ms Carol Lilley

Carol Lilley is an independent board director and chair or member of a number of Commonwealth Government audit committees. She was a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers and has over 20 years’ experience in financial statement audit, internal audit, and project and risk management, with a particular focus on government. Carol holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Western Australia. She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, and a certified internal auditor, and was a registered company auditor.

Ms Lilley joined the Audit and Risk Committee in September 2020.