Go to top of page


Our executive is responsible for the management of NHMRC.

Professor Anne Kelso, NHMCR CEO

Chief Executive Officer, Professor Anne Kelso AO

After completing her PhD at the University of Melbourne, Professor Kelso undertook research in immunology at the Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research, the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, and the Queensland Institute of Medical Research (QIMR). From 2000 to 2006, she was Director/CEO of the Cooperative Research Centre for Vaccine Technology based at QIMR. In 2007, she returned to Melbourne as Director of the World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza until taking up her role with NHMRC in April 2015. She was appointed Officer of the Order of Australia in 2007 for service to science and was elected to the fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences in 2018.

Professor Kelso is a member of several government and international committees, including the Australian Medical Research Advisory Board (advising the Minister for Health on the strategy and priorities for the Medical Research Future Fund), the Board of Trustees of the international Human Frontier Science Program, and the Strategy Board of the Global Alliance for Chronic Diseases, of which she is currently Chair.

Mr Clare McLaughlin, General Manager

General Manager, Ms Clare McLaughlin

Ms McLaughlin is responsible for overseeing the operation of NHMRC, a role she has held since January 2019.

Immediately before this appointment, Ms McLaughlin was the General Manager, Science Agencies Governance Branch in the Australian Government Department of Industry, Innovation and Science. She served as Science Counsellor at the Australian Embassy and Mission to the European Union in Brussels from 2013 to 2016. Previously, she managed the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy, research block grant funding and astronomy policy.

Ms McLaughlin has previously worked in the Australian Taxation Office, the National Office for the Information Economy and the Australian Government Department of Education.

Leadership team

Dr Julie Glover, Executive Director

Executive Director, Research Foundations, Dr Julie Glover

Dr Glover manages NHMRC’s largest research funding schemes, leads strategic research activities, and manages NHMRC’s grants and funding arrangements with research institutions.

Dr Glover completed a PhD in the Faculty of Science at the Australian National University and held research positions until joining the Bureau of Rural Sciences in 2002. In 2007, Dr Glover moved to the Innovation division of the Australian Government Department of Industry and spent 4 years developing and delivering key innovation policies. Dr Glover joined NHMRC as a Director in 2011.

Mr Tony Krizan FCPA, Executive Director

Executive Director, Corporate Operations and Information, Mr Tony Krizan FCPA

Mr Krizan is Executive Director, Corporate Operations and Information, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Information Officer of NHMRC. Tony has experience in a number of industries, as well as 28 years in the public sector working in a range of policy, program and corporate roles in the Finance, Employment, Education and Training, and Health and Ageing portfolios.

Mr Alan Singh, Executive Director

Executive Director, Research Translation, Mr Alan Singh

Mr Singh’s responsibilities centre on research translation, including public health and guidelines for clinical practice, the translation centre initiative, and translation-focused funding schemes for clinical trials, cohort studies and Centres of Research Excellence. He also leads NHMRC’s activities to support Indigenous health research and researchers, and NHMRC’s work on behalf of the Medical Research Future Fund.He is NHMRC’s Indigenous Champion.

Mr Singh has held a range of senior management roles, mostly in health policy.

Ms Prue Torrance, Executive Director

Executive Director, Research Quality and Priorities, Ms Prue Torrance

Ms Torrance’s responsibilities centre on initiatives to ensure the quality, integrity and ethical standards in NHMRC-funded research and priority-driven funding schemes. She also works with international partners in health and medical research. Additionally, she is responsible for strategic planning and corporate governance for the agency.

In 2020, Ms Torrance’s responsibilities include oversight of NHMRC’s COVID-19 Advice Taskforce, which is supporting an expert advisory committee to inform the public health response to the pandemic.

Ms Torrance joined NHMRC in May 2019. Previously, she held a range of senior management roles, including in corporate governance and finance. Ms Torrance has worked in the Education and Training, and Industry, Innovation, Science and Research portfolios in policy roles for science and research. She holds a Master of Studies from the Australian National University, and a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) and Science.

Mr Ivan Sharma , Executive Director (a/g)

Acting Executive Director, Corporate Operations, Mr Ivan Sharma CPA
(1 July 2019 to 31 December 2019)

Mr Sharma’s responsibilities include business services, human resources and finance functions. He acted as Chief Financial Officer in the latter half of 2019.

Mr Sharma has tertiary qualifications in commerce and accounting, and is a member of CPA Australia.

He has over 20 years of experience in the private and public sectors, including experience in international tax and securities in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

NHMRC structure

Figure 7 shows our organisational structure at 30 June 2020.

​Figure 7: NHMRC organisational structure as at 30 June 2020

 NHMRC organisational structure as at 30 June 2020