Go to top of page

5.15 Glossary

15.1.1 Defenitions



Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT)

An independent body that conducts reviews of administrative decisions made under Commonwealth laws.

Bilateral Agreement

An agreement between the Commonwealth and a state or territory that formalises the commitments of each party during Scheme rollout.

Bilateral estimates

Estimates for the number of people expected to enter the NDIS by quarter in each state and territory over the next three years. These figures are estimates only.

Disability sector

Refers to organisations and sole traders who deliver disability support services and the peak bodies that represent them.

Early Childhood Early Intervention (ECEI) Approach

This is the approach delivered by the NDIS to support children aged under seven years with developmental delay or disability and their families/carers to achieve better long-term outcomes through support services in their local community, regardless of diagnosis. The ECEI Approach is based on the principles of best practice in early childhood intervention and allows for access to timely, targeted and individualised early childhood intervention supports for children.

Individual living options (ILOs)

Living arrangements that focus on the individual. They include Living Alone, Co-Residency, Host Arrangements and Living Together options. They are an alternative to group home services.

Information, Linkages and Capacity Building (ILC)

The part of the NDIS that provides information, linkages and referrals to connect people with disability, their families and carers, with broader systems of support.

Insurance approach

Sharing the costs of disability services and supports across the community. Placing emphasis on making up-front investments that reduce participants’ calls on the Scheme into the future, including investments in measuring lifetime costs, research and innovation, and community capability development.

Local Area Coordinators /Coordination (LACs/LAC)

Local organisations working in partnership with the Agency, to help participants, their families and carers access the NDIS.

Partners in the Community (PiTC)

Community-based organisations who work with the NDIA to deliver the NDIS. People between the ages of 7 and 64 years of age will work with the local area coordinator partner in their local government area. Children under 7 years of age who have a developmental delay or disability will work with the early childhood partner in their local government area.


A written agreement worked out with the participant, stating their goals and needs, and the reasonable and necessary supports the NDIS will fund for them. Each participant has their own individual plan.

Specialist disability accommodation (SDA)

A range of housing designed for people with extreme functional impairment or very high needs.

Supported independent living (SIL)

One type of help or supervision with daily tasks to help participants live as independently as possible, while building your skills.

15.1.2 Acronyms

AAG—Autism Advisory Group

AAT—Administrative Appeals Tribunal

AAT Act—Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975

Agency—National Disability Insurance Agency

AHRC—Australian Human Rights Commission

AM—Member of the Order of Australia

ANAO—Australian National Audit Office

AO—Order of Australia, Officer in the General Division

APIs—Application Programming Interfaces

APS—Australian Public Service

APSC—Australian Public Service Commission

CALD—culturally and linguistically diverse

CEO—Chief Executive Officer

COAG—Council of Australian Governments

CRO—Chief Risk Officer

DSS—Department of Social Services

ECEI—Early Childhood Early Intervention

ELT—Executive Leadership Team

FASD—Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

FOI—freedom of information

FOI Act—Freedom of Information Act 1982

FTE—full time equivalent

GDP—Gross Domestic Product

GST—Goods and Services Tax

HR—human resources

IAC—Independent Advisory Council

ICT—information and communications technology

ILC—Information, Linkages and Capacity Building

ILOs—Individual Living Options

IRG—Industry Reference Group

KMP—key management personnel

LAC—Local Area Coordinator

LED—light emitting diode

NCC—National Contact Centre

NDIA—National Disability Insurance Agency

NDIS—National Disability Insurance Scheme

NDIS Act—National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013

NED—Non-Executive Director

NMHSRG—National Mental Health Sector Reference Group

OCO—Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

PBS—Portfolio Budget Statements 2019–20

PED—Participant Experience Delivery

PGPA Act—Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013

PGPA Rule—Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Rule 2014

PiTC—partners in the community

PPE—personal protective equipment

PRC—People and Remuneration Committee

PRG—Participant Reference Group

PSPF—Protective Security Policy Framework

RoRDs—review of reviewable decisions

Scheme—National Disability Insurance Scheme

SDA—specialist disability accommodation

SES—Senior Executive Service

SIL—supported independent living

TTP—Temporary Transformation Payment

WHS—work health and safety

WHS Act—Work Health and Safety Act 2011

 Cameron McMullen. The NDIS helped Cameron McMullen from NSW get the wehicle modifications he needed. Cameron uses hand controls to operate his van and drives while seated in his motorised wheelchair. "now I've got my freedom back. It's been absolutely life changing," Cameron said.