Go to top of page

Asset Management

One of the NCA’s functions under the PALM Act is to manage National Land and built assets within its area of responsibility. Asset management is a key aspect in meeting the NCA’s commitment to maintaining high-quality public facilities across the National Capital Estate.

The Australian Government has a direct interest in developing and maintaining the National Capital as an asset in which all Australians have a major investment.

These assets include:

  • the Parliamentary Zone and the National Triangle (excluding the Parliamentary Precinct and immediate curtilages around national institutions)
  • Anzac Parade, including its memorials
  • Commonwealth, Kings and Constitution Avenues
  • Lake Burley Griffin, including Scrivener Dam
  • Commonwealth and Kings Parks, including Aspen Island and the National Carillon
  • Dunrossil Drive, Yarralumla
  • Acton Peninsula
  • Yarramundi Grasslands
  • Stirling Ridge, Yarralumla
  • Diplomatic Estates in Yarralumla, Deakin, O’Malley and Curtin.

Associated assets include the Captain Cook Memorial Jet, fountains, national monuments, public artworks, large areas of landscape and infrastructure including paths, lighting, signage, open space areas, carparks and civil infrastructure such as roads, bridges and street lighting.

The NCA’s Asset Management Policy, underpinned by the Strategic Asset Management Plan, guides the approach to asset management, to ensure the NCA is able to effectively manage its assets. Asset Management Plans for each asset class are updated annually and provide more detailed tasks and activities that are undertaken by the NCA.

The maintenance and upgrade of NCA assets is also guided by our statutory obligations under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999, the PALM Act and National Land Ordinance 1989. The management of conservation areas and heritage-listed assets are guided by conservation management plans and heritage management plans. The NCA’s Asset Management System supports the maintenance and works undertaken across the National Estate.

The NCA has a statutory obligation set out in the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (EPBC Act), to prepare Heritage Management Plans for places it owns or manages that have Commonwealth Heritage values. The NCA has a rolling program to prepare heritage assessments and Heritage Management Plans to protect and manage the Commonwealth Heritage places it owns or controls.

Photo of Magna Carta Place, Parkes

The NCA is responsible for 20 listed heritage places – 18 on the Commonwealth Heritage List and two on the National Heritage List. There are also four places that the NCA is responsible for that have been assessed to have heritage values but are not listed. These places are managed in accordance with heritage management principles set out under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (EPBC Act). The NCA’s Heritage Strategy provides a strategic planning tool, setting out its approach to managing the heritage values of its property. The NCA has Heritage Management Plans (HMPs) for 19 of the listed places. A rolling program of review and update of HMPs is underway in accordance with EPBC Act obligations and best practice management.

The NCA purchases goods and services in accordance with the Commonwealth Procurement Rules. These rules are applied through the Accountable Authority Instructions. The NCA’s procurement policies and processes have been developed to ensure that the NCA:

  • undertakes competitive, non-discriminatory procurements
  • uses resources efficiently, effectively, economically and ethically
  • makes all procurement decisions in an accountable and transparent manner.

Photo of Old Parliament House Gardens, Parkes, photographed by Martin Ollman