Go to top of page


To support the Authority and Chief Executive in meeting their legislative functions and obligations, the NCA has the following committees in place. Details of the roles and responsibilities of the NCA’s key committees are set out below.

Audit Committee

The NCA Audit Committee provides independent advice and assurance to the Authority on the NCA’s financial and performance reporting, risk oversight and management and control and compliance framework.

The NCA Audit Committee’s Charter can be found at: www.nca.gov.au/files/nca-audit-committee-charterjune-2020.pdf.

The NCA Audit Committee comprised three members in 2019-20. The Committee’s ongoing external Chair, Mr Geoff Knuckey, and external member, Mr Stephen Sheehan were supplemented by a new external member, Ms Anne O’Donnell, on 13 February 2020, replacing Ms Chris Faulks. Further details of the NCA’s Audit Committee members in 2019-20 is set out below:

  • Mr Knuckey is an experienced chair and non-executive director with particular skills in financial reporting and analysis, risk management, corporate governance and internal audit. Mr Knuckey is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a member of the Institute of Internal Auditors. Mr Knuckey has a Bachelor of Economics degree and is a former Partner and Managing Partner in major accounting firm Ernst & Young. Mr Knuckey attended all four NCA Audit Committee meetings held in 2019-20. Mr Knuckey received total remuneration of $7,500 for his work in 2019-20.
  • Mr Sheehan is a Fellow of CPA Australia. Mr Sheehan has a Bachelor of Commerce degree, was previously an Australian Public Service senior executive and held the positions of Chief Financial Officer at the Commonwealth Departments of Immigration and Citizenship, and Health and Ageing. Mr Sheehan attended all four NCA Audit Committee meetings held in 2019-20. Mr Sheehan received total remuneration of $3,625 for his work in 2019-20. Mr Sheehan was a member of the Australian Public Service until December 2019 and was not separately remunerated while employed in the APS.
  • Ms O’Donnell is has more than 40 years’ experience in the finance sector and is an experienced executive and non-executive director in the listed, not-forprofit and mutual sectors. Ms O’Donnell holds a Masters of Business Administration, a Bachelor of Arts (Banking and Finance) and is a Senior Fellow of FINSIA and a Fellow of Australian Institute of Company Directors. Ms O’Donnell was appointed to the NCA Audit Committee on 1 February 2020 and attended the two meetings held between then and 30 June 2020. Ms O’Donnell received total remuneration of $4,400 for her work in 2019-20
  • Ms Chris Faulks left the NCA Audit Committee on completion of her term as a Member of the National Capital Authority in September 2019. She was not able to attend the only meeting in 2019-20 where she was a member of the Audit Committee. Ms Faulks did not receive any additional remuneration for her work on the Audit Committee – details of her remuneration as an Authority Member are included in the Executive Remuneration section of this Report.

The NCA’s Chief Executive, Chief Financial Officer and representatives of the Australian National Audit Office regularly attend the Audit Committee’s meetings as observers. With Ms Faulks concluding her term on the Authority and the Audit Committee, the Authority Chair, Mr Terry Weber, has attended Audit Committee meetings as an observer in order to promote the flow
of information between the Authority and the Audit Committee.

During 2019-20, the Audit Committee met on four occasions to fulfil its statutory purpose and Charter requirements.

Did you know? Westlake at Stirling Park was one of Canberra’s first settlements from 1922-1965 and was the second biggest suburb in Canberra in its day.

ICT Sub-Committee

An Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Sub-Committee was stablished in mid-2019. A particular focus for the Committee through 2019-20 was to provide oversight of the strategic planning, development and implementation of the NCA’s ICT Modernisation Program including integration of business systems and establishment of a sustainable operating model to support new technologies; and to ensure its benefits will be fully realised.

The Committee comprises the NCA’s Chief Operating Officer as Chair, the Chief Operating Officer of Geoscience Australia, the Chief Information Officer of Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications, and two NCA Directors as Members.

Senior Executive
The NCA Senior Executive comprises the Chief Executive, Chief Planner and Chief Operating Officer. The Senior Executive meets on a regular basis to assist in the strategic management of the NCA.

Senior Leadership Team
The Senior Leadership Team comprises the Chief Executive, Chief Planner, Chief Operating Officer and all NCA Directors. The Senior Leadership Team meets weekly to discuss current and emerging issues being addressed by the NCA and individual teams.

Work Health and Safety Committee
The Work Health and Safety Committee is constituted in accordance with the Work Health and Safety Act 2011 (WHS Act). Membership includes management, health and safety representatives, and employee nominees from across the NCA. In 2019-20, the Committee was chaired by the NCA’s Chief Operating Officer.

In accordance with the WHS Act, the Work Health and Safety Committee meets regularly to facilitate discussion and co-operation regarding health and safety issues in the workplace between management, employees and other relevant parties who work in NCA premises or other relevant work sites.

Authority Consultative Committee
In accordance with the NCA Enterprise Agreement 2018-21, the NCA maintains an Authority Consultative Committee. This Committee provides a forum for management and employees to discuss relevant matters affecting the workplace.