Go to top of page

Authority Membership


Mr Terry Weber was re-appointed on 21 March 2019 as (part-time) Chair of the Authority for three years from 12 June 2019. Mr Weber has been a Member of the Authority since 12 June 2014 and Chair since 1 January 2015.

Mr Weber is a Senior Partner and Federal Government Lead Partner in PricewaterhouseCoopers’ Canberra consulting practice. He provides specialist guidance in the areas of property, infrastructure and facilities management; financial management; and service delivery models for Australian and international governments, and major corporate organisations.

From 2000 to 2008 Mr Weber was the Chief Executive Officer for UGL (United) Services, a leading global corporate real estate and outsourcing business services organisation. Mr Weber is a long-term Canberran and is currently serving on several boards, including the Canberra Raiders and the Ricky Stuart Foundation.


Mr Dennis Richardson AC was appointed as a part-time Member of the Authority on 18 September 2017 for a period of five years.

Mr Richardson is a former Secretary of the Department of Defence, and Foreign Affairs and Trade; Australian Ambassador to the United States; and Director-General of the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation.

Mr Richardson is a long-time Canberran and is currently serving on the Board of the Canberra Raiders, Linfox Australia and several other Boards.

Ms Jenny Smithson was appointed as a part-time Member of the Authority on 11 June 2020 for a period of five years.

Ms Smithson is a qualified and experienced Town Planner and former, and current Acting, Commissioner of the New South Wales Land and Environment Court and former Sessional Member of the Western Australian State Administrative Tribunal. Ms Smithson is based in Sydney and was previously based in Perth.

Previous board positions include the Western Australian Land Development Authority (LandCorp); former Senior Principal of international engineering consultancy, Cardno BSD Pty Ltd; the Planning Institute of Australia and BSD Consultants.

Member and Chief Executive

Ms Sally Barnes commenced as the Chief Executive of the NCA on 12 February 2018, as part of a five-year appointment.

Previously, Ms Barnes was the Director, National Parks in the Commonwealth Department of Environment and Energy. Ms Barnes is an experienced executive, and was the Chief Executive of the Office of Environment and Heritage in the NSW Government from 2012 to 2014. Ms Barnes was awarded the ACT Excellence in Women’s Leadership award for 2017.

Members Whose Term Concluded in 2019-20

Ms Chris Faulks completed her five-year term as a part-time Member of the Authority on 17 September 2019.

Ms Faulks made an important contribution to the work of the Authority during her term, especially in the areas of activation of National Land, strategic vision and leadership, and stakeholder engagement. During her term, Ms Faulks was also a board member of the ACT Government’s City Renewal Authority and helped promote productive linkages and communication between the two bodies.

Mr Glenn Keys AO completed his five-year term as a part-time Member of the Authority on 10 December 2019.

Mr Keys made a significant contribution to the work of the Authority during his term, especially through his energy and enthusiasm in promoting the role of the NCA and for new initiatives. Mr Keys contributed greatly to the vision of the NCA including in the areas of project delivery, social responsibility and community involvement.

G Bell arrival at the National Carillon, Aspen Island, photographed by Dom Northcott