Go to top of page

Asset Management

One of the NCA’s functions under the PALM Act is to manage National Land within its area of responsibility. Asset management is a key aspect in meeting the NCA’s commitment to maintaining high-quality public facilities across the National Capital Estate.

The Australian Government has a direct interest in developing and maintaining the National Capital as an asset in which all Australians have a major investment.

These assets include:

  • the Parliamentary Zone and the National Triangle (excluding the Parliamentary Precinct and immediate curtilages around national institutions)
  • Anzac Parade, including its memorials
  • Commonwealth, Kings and Constitution Avenues
  • the Lake, including Scrivener Dam
  • Commonwealth and Kings Parks, including Aspen Island and the National Carillon
  • Dunrossil Drive, Yarralumla
  • Acton Peninsula
  • Yarramundi Grasslands
  • Stirling Ridge, Yarralumla
  • Diplomatic Estates in Yarralumla, Deakin and O’Malley

Associated assets include the Captain Cook Memorial Jet, fountains, national monuments, public artworks, large areas of landscape and infrastructure including paths, lighting, signage, open space areas, and civil infrastructure such as roads, bridges and street lighting.

The NCA’s Asset Management Policy, underpinned by the Strategic Asset Management Plan, guides the approach to asset management, to ensure the NCA is able to effectively manage its assets. Asset Management Plans for each asset class are updated regularly and provide more detailed tasks and activities that are undertaken by the NCA.

The maintenance and upgrade of NCA assets is also guided by our statutory obligations under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999, the PALM Act and National Land Ordinance 1989. The management of conservation areas and heritage-listed assets are guided by conservation management plans and heritage management plans.

The NCA has a statutory obligation set out under Section 341ZA of the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (EPBC Act), to prepare Heritage Management Plans for places it own or manages that have Commonwealth Heritage Values. The NCA has a five-year program to prepare heritage assessments and Heritage Management Plans to protect and manage the Commonwealth Heritage places it owns or controls.

The NCA is responsible for 19 listed, 5 nominated and 2 indicative places on the Commonwealth Heritage List, and 1 nominated and 2 listed places on the National Heritage List. The NCA’s Heritage Strategy provides it with a strategic planning tool, setting out the approach to managing the heritage values of its property. The NCA has Heritage Management Plans for 17 of the listed places.