Go to top of page

Committees and working groups

IHPA has developed a committee framework to assist in providing expert advice and to ensure the transparency and integrity of the organisation.

IHPA’s statutory committees comprise the Clinical Advisory Committee and the Jurisdictional Advisory Committee, established under Parts 4.10 and 4.11 of the National Health Reform Act 2011.

Other advisory committees and working groups have been established to assist IHPA in the delivery of its work program, pursuant to Part 4.12 of the National Health Reform Act 2011. These include:

  • Activity Based Funding Technical Advisory Committee
  • Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee (internal)
  • Classifications Clinical Advisory Group
  • Data Governance Steering Committee (internal)
  • Diagnosis Related Groups Technical Group
  • Emergency Care Advisory Working Group
  • Mental Health Working Group
  • National Hospital Cost Data Collection Advisory Committee
  • Non-admitted Care Advisory Working Group
  • Small Rural Hospitals Working Group
  • Stakeholder Advisory Committee
  • Subacute Care Working Group
  • Teaching, Training and Research Working Group
  • Work Health and Safety Committee (internal)

Committees and working groups are structured to enhance IHPA’s statutory functions. Some committees and working groups may also have sub-committees to assist in the delivery of IHPA’s work program. All committees and working groups have Terms of Reference setting out their role, function, membership, and reporting relationship.

IHPA’s management, committees and working groups Classifications Clinical Advisory Group; Diagnosis Related Groups; Emergency Care Advisory Working Group; Mental Health Working Group; Non-admitted Care Advisory Working Group; Small Rural Hospitals Working Group; Subacute Care Working Group; Teaching, Training and Research Working Group.

Clinical Advisory Committee

The Clinical Advisory Committee was established under section 176 of the National Health Reform Act 2011. Its functions include:

  • advising the Pricing Authority on developing and specifying classification systems for health care and other services provided by public hospitals
  • advising the Pricing Authority in relation to:
    • matters related to the functions of the Pricing Authority
    • matters referred to it by the
    • Pricing Authority.

Committee members are appointed by the Australian Government Minister for Health. At 30 June 2019, the Clinical Advisory Committee consists of 21 members.

The Clinical Advisory Committee is required to report annually. The Clinical Advisory Committee Annual Report, including details of its members and meetings, sits within the IHPA Annual Report, here: 4. Clinical Advisory Committee.

Jurisdictional Advisory Committee

The Jurisdictional Advisory Committee was established under section 195 of the National Health Reform Act 2011. It consists of a Chair appointed by the Pricing Authority and nine other members (one to represent each state, territory and the Australian Government). Committee members are appointed by written instrument by the head of the health department of each jurisdiction.

The Jurisdictional Advisory Committee met on 10 occasions between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019.

Jurisdictional Advisory Committee members as of 30 June 2019:

  • James Downie, Chair
  • Rob Anderson (Western Australia)
  • Lynne Cowan (South Australia)
  • Toni Cunningham (Queensland)
  • Karen Doran (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Denise Ferrier (Victoria)
  • Nigel Lyons (New South Wales)
  • Paul McBride (Commonwealth Government)
  • Ross Smith (Tasmania)
  • Stathi Tsangaris (Northern Territory)

During the reporting period there were changes to the Australian Capital Territory, Commonwealth, Northern Territory and South Australia membership.