Go to top of page

Directors details

Dr. Peta Seaton AM, Chair, PhD, BA (Hons) (USyd), GAICD

Dr Seaton AM was appointed as Chair on 8 December 2014. She is the Principal of Strategic Consulting, Non-Executive Director of the Menzies Research Centre (since November 2015) and President of the Near Eastern Archaeology Foundation Council at the University of Sydney. She is formerly a Non-Executive Director of the Bradman Foundation, CARE Australia and BDCU Alliance Bank. A former NSW Parliamentarian and frontbencher, Dr Seaton served as Director of Transition and Director of Strategic Priorities in the NSW Premier’s Office from 2011-2014.

Sam Andersen, Non-Executive Director, LLB (QUT), CPA, FAICD, F Fin

Mrs Andersen is a Certified Practicing Accountant with a Bachelor of Laws degree. She is a Fellow of Finsia (the Financial Services Institute of Australasia) and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Sam was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Hearing Australia on 30 August 2013, is Chair of the Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation Limited, Chair of Beyond Bank Australia and Chair of the Department of Premier & Cabinet Victoria, Audit & Risk Management Committee. Sam is also a member of the Board of Trustees for Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust, Director of Agriculture Victoria Services Pty Ltd and a board member of the Victorian Land Registry Services. Sam held senior executive roles in investment banking and financial services and, following a career change from banking and finance, she held CFO and COO roles in listed technology companies and led the IPO as Managing Director of a listed allied health services company.

Chris Crawford PSM, Non-Executive Director, BA (Hons) (UNSW), LLB (UNSW), LLM (USyd) and MBA (MU)

Mr Crawford was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on 30 August 2017. He is the Principal of Crawford Consulting, a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Member of the Industry Advisory Committee of the Macquarie University Centre for the Health Economy. Previously he was consecutively Chief Executive of the Northern NSW Local Health District, North Coast Area Health Service and Northern Rivers Area Health Service for over fifteen years. Prior to that he was Executive Director of St George Hospital and Community Health Service and earlier he served as Chief of Staff to the NSW Minister for Health. He has Master of Business Administration and Master of Laws degrees and is currently undertaking a PhD in Government. He has a passion for excellent governance, strong support for frontline staff and proactive customer service. For his services to Health he received the Public Service Medal.

Jody Currie, Non-Executive Director

Ms Currie was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on 30 August 2017. Jody is the CEO of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Health Service (ATSICHS) Brisbane. She is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She currently serves on the Board of the Brisbane Indigenous Media Association and was a member of the Board of the Queensland Poetry Festival. Prior to her position as CEO, Jody was a member of the ATSICHS Board over a six year period, two of these as Chair. Jody has a lengthy history in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander human service delivery and is a strong advocate for improving the service accessibility to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. She has a passion and focus on child protection and health, after her experience in a variety of roles in both the community and government sectors. Before joining ATSICHS Jody held senior positions at the Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council, Apunipima Cape York Health Council, Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Human Services Coalition and her most recent position before joining ATSICHS was the Director of Human Services at the Institute for Urban Indigenous Health (IUIH).

Sarah Vaughan, Non-Executive Director, M IT, GradDip Comm, Mgt

Ms Vaughan was appointed as a special purpose member of Hearing Australia's Innovation Strategy Committee on 30 January 2017 and then appointed as a Non-Executive Director in August 2017. Sarah has held a number of positions in the public and private sectors. She is a graduate of the Australian Army’s Royal Military College and spent eight years in the Army in a variety of Communications and Information Systems management roles. She holds a Master’s Degree in Information Technology and is a graduate of Stanford’s executive education programme in Design Thinking. Sarah was most recently a Senior Director at Microsoft Australia, and has a strong background in stakeholder engagement, product commercialisation, as well as the application of emerging technology. Sarah is the founder of The Arché, a bespoke accelerator and seed fund helping Australian SMEs market test new products and scale-up. She is a member of Melbourne University’s Industry Advisory Group and works with a wide range of Australian Universities on curriculum and student programs on innovation and entrepreneurship. Sarah is also a Director in an agricultural business in Western NSW, producing beef for the premium Australian and Asian export markets.

Kim Keogh, Special Purpose Director

Mr Keogh was appointed as a Special Purpose Director of Hearing Australia on 1 September 2018 and reappointed for an extended period in April 2019. Kim was previously a Director of Hearing Australia over the period of 2007 to 2013. He is currently an Executive Director of Darlot Brothers Pty Ltd and a government relations/public affairs advisor to Atlas Iron Ltd, Pilbara Minerals Ltd and Balla Balla Infrastructure Pty Ltd. Previously he was a member of the National Heritage Trust Advisory Board, Chair of the Ministerial Reference Group (Agriculture and Environment), member of the National Weeds Advisory Group and pastoralist. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Kim Terrell, Managing Director, B Arts, Master’s Degree in Public Policy

Mr. Terrell was appointed Acting Managing Director of Hearing Australia on 1 March 2018 and appointed Managing Director on 1 September 2018. Kim’s extensive career includes working with and advising various Ministers, Prime Ministers and their offices, to initiate significant improvements across various government programs. He played a key role in establishing three agencies: the Digital Transformation Office (DTO), the Australian Sports Anti-doping Authority (ASADA) and the CrimTrac Agency, and is highly experienced in building innovative, high performing teams. Kim was instrumental in creating myGov and driving digital transformation across the Department of Human Services and the government. He has a Bachelor of Arts degree, a Master’s Degree in Public Policy and has also received three Australia Day awards. In addition to his professional achievements, Kim was an Australian Swim Team member from 1981-86 and attended the 1982 Commonwealth Games and 1984 Olympics.