Go to top of page


Figure 1 shows the organisational structure of Geoscience Australia at 30 June 2020.

The accountable authority of Geoscience Australia is the Chief Executive Officer, Dr James Johnson, who occupied that position throughout 2019–20.

Figure 1: Geoscience Australia organisational structure, 30 June 2020

Geoscience Australia organisational structure, 30 June 2020 Chief Executive Officer, Dr James Johnson. Chief Scientist, Office of the Chief Scientist. Discovery and Engagementt Land and marine access. Chief of Division, Minerals, Energy and Groundwater Division. Basin Systems Mineral Systems Advice, Invetment Attraction and Analysis. Chief of Division, Place, Space and Communitites Division. Community Safety National Positioning Infrastructure. National Earth and Marine Observations. National Location Information. Digital Earth Australia. Chief of Division, Corporate Division. Finance Human Resources Governance and Risk Communications Building Services ICT Security Diversity and Inclusion Chief Scientific Officer Digital Science Infrastructure and Integration Scientific Computing Digital Science and Infrormatics Business Engagement and Improvement

Outcome and program structure

Geoscience Australia has one outcome and one program, as shown in Figure 2.

Figure 2: Geoscience Australia outcome and program structure (2019–20)

 Geoscientific and spatial information services

Program 1 contributes to Outcome 1 by providing trusted information and advice on Australia’s geology and geography to support decision making. Through this program, Geoscience Australia develops innovative applications and solutions in response to Australia's most important challenges by bringing together observations, data and knowledge from across the geoscience disciplines.