Go to top of page

Boards of Management

Booderee, Kakadu and Uluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa National Parks are managed jointly by the Director and Traditional Owners in accordance with the EPBC Act. Each park has a board of management established under the Act, with a majority of Indigenous members who are nominated by the Aboriginal Owners. Board members at 30 June 2020 are listed in Table 6: Booderee National Park Board of Management membership, Table 7: Kakadu Board of Management membership, and Table 8: Uluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa Board of Management membership.

Booderee National Park Board of Management

Clive Freeman

Chair – Booderee National Park Board of Management

Photograph of Clive Freeman, Chair of the Booderee National Park Board of Management.
Artist and activist Clive Freeman is a Traditional Owner of Wreck Bay in Booderee National Park on the NSW South Coast. Clive is deeply connected to Yuin Country, but also Eora and Wiradjuri through his family heritage. Clive’s formal education in environmental science at the University of Wollongong informs his engagement with archaeological science and rock art research. His artistic works have been featured in SBS’s Colour Theory TV series. He is a former artist-in-residence at the NSW Gallery, the former coordinator of Aboriginal Interpretation Programs at Sydney Living Museums’ and is one of the founders of the ongoing ‘Country’ project on exhibition at the Venice Biennale. Like his family’s totem, the wonga pigeon, Clive has a distinctive voice. His varied work sets out to share Aboriginal stories of connection so that all Australians can reconnect with Aboriginal history.

Table 6: Booderee National Park Board of Management membership


Mr Clive Freeman (Traditional Owner nominee)


Ms Annette Brown (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Jeffrey McLeod (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Thomas Brown Sr (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mrs Julie Freeman (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Beverley Ardler (Traditional Owner nominee)

Position Vacant (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Wendy Hills (Ecotourism expert)

Captain Warrn Bairstow (Commanding Officer HMAS Creswell)

Mr Christoph Baseler (Regional Australia)

Prof. Michael Douglas (Conservation science expert)

Dr James Findlay (Director of National Parks)

Kakadu Board of Management

Maria Lee

Chair – Kakadu National Park Board of Management

Photograph of Maria Lee, Chair of the Kakadu Board of Management.
Maria Lee has been actively involved with the Kakadu Board of Management since 2011. In recent years, Maria has taken on the challenging role of Chairperson for the Kakadu Board with a strong commitment to ensuring the voice of Traditional Owners is heard on matters affecting their country. As Chairperson, Maria embraces the responsibility and commitment to work at achieving balance between Bininj and non-Bininj ways in the joint management of Kakadu.

Maria lives at Kybrook Farm just outside of Pine Creek and is actively involved in maintaining a community that is free from the negative effects of alcohol and substance abuse. Maria is often involved in the various community programs that are available and strives to provide a safe and happy environment for the children within the community. Maria is a member of the Jawoyn Association and Werenbun Aboriginal Corporation.

Table 7: Kakadu Board of Management membership


Ms Maria Lee (Traditional Owner nominee)


Mr Ryan Barrowei (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Alfred Nayinggul (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Mai Katona (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Sampson Henry (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Jeffrey Lee (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Jonathan Nadji (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Michael Bangalang (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Yvonne Margarula (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Bessie Coleman (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Kathleen Noonan (Tourism Representative)

Dr James Findlay (Director of National Parks)

Dr Brant Smith (Assistant Secretary, Kakadu and Strategic Priorities Branch)

Mr Alastair Shields (Northern Territory Government nominee)

Prof Michael Douglas (Nature conservation expert)

Uluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa Board of Management

Sidney James

Chair – Uluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa National Park Board of Management

Photograph of Sidney James, Chair of the Uluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa Board of Management
Sidney James is a Pitjantjatjara man, born in Utju (Areyonga - located about 220 km west of Alice Springs) and moved to Kaltukatjara (Docker River – located 670 km west south west of Alice Springs) as a young boy. He began his working career with the local council then worked with the NT Police Force at Muṯitjulu and Yulara.

Sidney has had many years’ experience on Boards and was a Director for Wana Ungkunytja, an organisation that oversees the management of multiple central desert organisations.

Sidney and his family have strong ties to the Kata Tjuṯa area, through his Tjamu (grandfather) who also assisted the expedition crew to Harold B. Lasseter’s grave site. Over the last 3 years, Sidney has been operating visitor tours reliving Lasseter’s fateful trail.

In his role as Chair, Sidney wants to aim for the goals set previously by the Board and run everything ‘straight and smooth’. Sidney said ‘The aim is to go straight, everything is already set up for us, follow that iwara (trail).

Table 8: Uluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa Board of Management membership


Mr Sidney James (Traditional Owner nominee)


Mr Sammy Wilson (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Owen Burton (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr Trevor Adamson (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Selina Kulitja (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Alison Carroll (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Teresa Nipper (Traditional Owner nominee)

Ms Nyinku Jingo (Traditional Owner nominee)

Mr John King (Minister for Tourism nominee)

Prof. Sue Jackson (Minister for the Environment nominee)

Mr Scott Lovett (Northern Territory Government nominee)

Dr James Findlay (Director of National Parks)