Go to top of page

Figure 3: Treasury portfolio outcome and program structure as at 30 June 2018

Portfolio Minister – Treasurer: The Hon Scott Morrison MP

Minister for Revenue and Financial Services: The Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP

Assistant Minister to the Treasurer: The Hon Michael Sukkar MP

Department of the Treasury: Secretary, Mr John Fraser

Outcome 1: Informed decisions on the development and implementation of policies to improve the wellbeing of the Australian people, including by achieving strong, sustainable economic growth, through the provision of advice to government and the efficient administration of federal financial relations.

Program 1.1: Department of the Treasury

Program 1.2: Payments to International Financial Institutions

Program 1.3: Support for Markets and Business

Program 1.4: General Revenue Assistance

Program 1.5: Assistance to the States for Healthcare Services

Program 1.6: Assistance to the States for Skills and Workforce Development

Program 1.7: Assistance to the States for Disability Services

Program 1.8: Assistant to States for Affordable Housing

Program 1.9: National Partnership Payments to the States

Australian Bureau of Statistics: Statistician, Mr David W Kalisch

Outcome 1: Decisions on important matters made by Governments, business and the broader community are informed by objective, relevant and trusted official statistics produced through the collection and integration of data, its analysis, and the provision of statistical information.

Program 1.1: Australian Bureau of Statistics

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission: Chairman, Mr Rod Sims

Outcome 1: Lawful competition, consumer protection, and regulated national infrastructure markets and services through regulation, including enforcement, education, price monitoring and determining the terms of access to infrastructure services.

Program 1.1: Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Program 1.2: Australian Energy Regulator

Australian Office of Financial Management: Chief Executive Officer, Mr Robert Nicholl

Outcome 1: The advancement of macroeconomic growth and stability, and the effective operation of financial markets, through issuing debt, investing in financial assets and managing debt, investments and cash for the Australian Government.

Program 1.1: Australian Office of Financial Management

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority: Chairman, Mr Wayne Byres

Outcome 1: Enhanced public confidence in Australia’s financial institutions through a framework of prudential regulation that balances financial safety and efficiency, competition, contestability and competitive neutrality and, in balancing these objectives, promotes financial system stability in Australia.

Program 1.1: Australian Prudential Regulation Authority

Australian Securities and Investments Commission: Chairman, Mr James Shipton

Outcome 1: Improved confidence in Australia’s financial markets through promoting informed investors and financial consumers, facilitating fair and efficient markets and delivering efficient registry systems.

Program 1.1: Australian Securities and Investments Commission

Program 1.2: Banking Act 1959, Life Insurance Act 1995, unclaimed monies and special accounts

Australian Taxation Office: Commissioner, Mr Chris Jordan AO

Outcome 1: Confidence in the administration of aspects of Australia’s taxation and superannuation systems through helping people understand their rights and obligations, improving ease of compliance and access to benefits, and managing non-compliance with the law.

Program 1.1: Australian Taxation Office

Program 1.2: Tax Practitioners Board

Program 1.3: Australian Business Register

Program 1.4: Australian Charities and Not-for-profits

Program 1.5: Australian Screen Production Incentive

Program 1.6: Exploration Development Incentive

Program 1.7: Fuel Tax Credits Scheme

Program 1.8: National Rental Affordability Scheme

Program 1.9: Product Stewardship for Oil

Program 1.10: Research and Development Tax Incentive

Program 1.11: Low Income Superannuation Tax Offset

Program 1.12: Private Health Insurance Rebate

Program 1.13: Superannuation Co-contribution Scheme

Program 1.14: Superannuation Guarantee Scheme

Program 1.15: Targeted assistance through the taxation system

Program 1.16: Interest on Overpayment and Early payments

Program 1.17: Bad and Doubtful Debts and Remissions

Program 1.18: Other Administered

Commonwealth Grants Commission: Secretary, Mr Michael Willcock

Outcome 1: Informed Government decisions on fiscal equalisation between the states and territories through advice and recommendations on the distribution of GST revenue and health care grants.

Program 1.1: Commonwealth Grants Commission

Inspector-General of Taxation: Inspector-General, Mr Ali Noroozi

Outcome 1: Improved tax administration through investigation of complaints, conducting reviews, public reporting and independent advice to government and its relevant entities.

Program 1.1: Inspector-General of Taxation

National Competition Council: President, Ms Julie-Anne Schafer

Outcome 1: Competition in markets that are dependent on access to nationally significant monopoly infrastructure, through recommendations and decisions promoting the efficient operation of, use of and investment in infrastructure.

Program 1.1: National Competition Council

Office of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board: Chairman, Professor Roger Simnett

Outcome 1: The formulation and making of auditing and assurance standards that are used by auditors of Australian entity financial reports or for other auditing and assurance engagements.

Program 1.1: Auditing and Assurance Standards Board

Office of the Australian Accounting Standards Board: Chairman, Ms Kris Peach

Outcome 1: The formulation and making of external reporting standards that are used by Australian entities to prepare financial reports and enable users of these reports to make informed decisions.

Program 1.1: Australian Accounting Standards Board

Productivity Commission: Chairman, Mr Peter Harris

Outcome 1: Well-informed policy decision-making and public understanding on matters relating to Australia’s productivity and living standards, based on independent and transparent analysis from a community-wide perspective.

Program 1.1: Productivity Commission

Royal Australian Mint: Chief Executive Officer, Mr Ross MacDiarmid

Outcome 1: The coinage needs of the Australian economy, collectors and foreign countries are met through the manufacture and sale of circulating coins, collector coins and other minted like products.

Program 1.1: Royal Australian Mint