Go to top of page

Appendix A5: Audit Committee membership

Table 54: Audit Committee membership

Member name

Qualifications, knowledge, skills or experience

Number of meetings attended/total number of meetings

Total annual remuneration

Ian McPhee, AO, PSM

Public sector and industry experience, including as a company director, audit committee chair/member, chair of various governance reviews and Auditor-General for Australia 2005–15.


B.Bus (Accountancy), B.A (Computing Studies), FCPA, FCA, FIPAA, GAICD


$55 528

Kate Freebody

Qualified accountant (CA) and financial specialist consulting to government on a range of disciplines, including financial modelling, performance evaluation and review, financial function and governance review, business process re-engineering, financial and performance reporting, tender evaluation and procurement support. Broad range of knowledge and expertise relevant to operation of public service.


B.Business, Chartered Accountant CA ANZ


$55 542

David Bryant

Experience and understanding of information communication and technology (ICT) risk management and delivery of ICT projects and services in the public sector environment.


PhD (Management Information Systems), MBA (Technology Management), B. Information Technology, ACS PCP, AIPM CPPD, Accredited Practitioner PRINCE2 (A1122), MSP (A2894) Benefits Management (A249), P30 (A706)).


$27 720

Elizabeth Kelly, PSM

Knowledge and experience relevant to the operations of the department, including as deputy secretary of the department responsible for innovation, digital strategy and industry support programs.


Bachelor of Economics, Bachelor of Laws (Hons II), Master of Laws, Advanced Management Program


N/A—internal member

Trevor Power1

(July to December 2019)

Knowledge and experience relevant to the operations of the department, particularly in policy development, including as Head of Division, Industry Growth Division.


Bachelor of Commerce and Laws (Hons), Diploma of Government


N/A—internal member

  1. The internal member position was vacant between January and June 2020.