Go to top of page



AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal

ABS Australian Bureau of Statistics

ACIC Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission

ADHA Australian Digital Health Agency

AEC Australian Electoral Commission

AFP Australian Federal Police

AGDRP Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment

AGIL Australian Government Indigenous Locations

AIC Assistance for Isolated Children Scheme

AIR Australian Immunisation Register

AIS Aboriginal Interpreter Service

AIWA Aboriginal Interpreting Western Australia

ANAO Australian National Audit Office

APS Australian Public Service

ARO Authorised Review Officer

AS/NZS Australian Standard / New Zealand Standard

ATO Australian Taxation Office

AUSTRAC Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre

AVTOP Australian Victim of Terrorism Overseas Payment

CALD culturally and linguistically diverse

CCXO Chief Citizen Experience Officer

CDPP Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

CEO Community Engagement Officer

CMBO Claim Medicare Benefits Online

CPRs Commonwealth Procurement Rules

DHCAS Disaster Health Care Assistance Scheme

DMA Data Matching Agency

DMP Act Data-matching Program (Assistance and Tax) Act 1990

DPO Departure Prohibition Order

DRA Disaster Recovery Allowance

DSP Disability Support Pension

DSS Department of Social Services

DTA Digital Transformation Agency

DVA Department of Veterans’ Affairs

ECLIPSE Electronic Claim Lodgement and Information Processing Service Environment

EDI Electronic Data Interchange

EFT Electronic Funds Transfer

ESAt Employment Services Assessment

ESD ecologically sustainable development

FIS Financial Information Service

FOI freedom of information

FOI Act Freedom of Information Act 1982

GP general practitioner

GPRIP General Practice Rural Incentives Program

HI Service Healthcare Identifiers Service

HPAU Health Professional Advisory Unit

HPOS Health Professional Online Services

HR human resources

HSP Humanitarian Settlement Program

IAP Indigenous Apprenticeships Programme

IBNR Incurred But Not Reported

ICT information and communications technology

IHI Indigenous Health Incentive

IPS Information Publication Scheme

ISO Indigenous Service Officer

ISTQB International Software Testing Qualifications Board

ISR Income Stream Review

ISS Indigenous Servicing Strategy 2018–22

JCA Job Capacity Assessment

JCPAA Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit

LGBTI lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex

MBS Medicare Benefits Schedule

MP Member of Parliament

MSO Multicultural Service Officer

MYEFO Mid-Year Fiscal and Economic Outlook

NABERS National Australian Built Environment Rating System

NAIDOC National Aboriginal and Islanders Day Observance Committee

NASH National Authentication Service for Health

NDIA National Disability Insurance Agency

NDIS National Disability Insurance Scheme

NECCSC National Emergency Call Centre Surge Capability

NIC National Indigenous Coalition

NIP National Immunisation Program

NSSRN National Social Security Rights Network

OAIC Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

PBS Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme

PCC Pensioner Concession Card

PGPA Act Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013

PIN personal identification number

PIP Practice Incentives Program

PKI Public Key Infrastructure

PRODA Provider Digital Access

PROFORMA Professional Forms Automation

PSM Public Service Medal

RAP Reconciliation Action Plan

RICE Remote ICT Capability Enhancement

RPBS Repatriation Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme

RPGP Rural Procedural Grants Program

SAF Small APRA Superannuation Fund

SAFe Scaled Agile Framework

SEAM School Enrolment and Attendance Measure

SES Senior Executive Service

SIP Service Incentive Payment

SMEs small and medium enterprises

SMS short message service

SMSF Self-Managed Super Fund

SMTP Electronic Data Interchange transmitted by Simple Mail Transfer Protocol

START Student Transformation Agile Release Train

STEM science, technology, engineering and mathematics

STRC Short Term Restorative Care

WPIT Welfare Payment Infrastructure Transformation