Go to top of page

Portfolio Structure

In 2018-19, the Health Portfolio consisted of:

  • the Department of Health (refer Part 3.3: Structure Chart, p. 150);
  • 17 portfolio entities (refer Preliminary Pages – Portfolio Entity-Specific Outcomes, p. 23); and
  • six statutory office holders:
    • Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner
    • Aged Care Pricing Commissioner
    • Director, National Industrial Chemicals Notification Assessment Scheme
    • Gene Technology Regulator
    • National Health Funding Pool Administrator
    • National Rural Health Commissioner

Portfolio Entities

In 2018-19, the Health Portfolio consisted of the Department and 17 portfolio entities. Each entity has its own specific outcome, with performance against their outcome reported in their respective annual report.

  • Department of Health
  • Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission1
  • Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
  • Australian Digital Health Agency
  • Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
  • Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
  • Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority
  • Australian Sports Commission (Sport Australia)
  • Australian Sports Foundation
  • Cancer Australia
  • Food Standards Australia New Zealand
  • Independent Hospital Pricing Authority
  • National Blood Authority
  • National Health Funding Body
  • National Health and Medical Research Council
  • National Mental Health Commission
  • Organ and Tissue Authority (Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority)
  • Professional Services Review


  1. The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission replaces the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency and the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner and was established on 1 January 2019.