Go to top of page

Organisational structure

We revised the department's organisational structure and allocated our resources to align with the strategic direction and priorities of the White Paper. Five newly established groups headed by deputy secretaries mirror the White Paper's priorities and harness the services and capabilities required for their effective implementation. This new group structure promotes a sense of shared corporate leadership, and enables greater contestability and improved prioritisation and resource allocation in pursuit of the department’s objectives. The department is improving its governance structures to better harness performance information to inform judgements and priorities.

Organisational Chart as at 30 June 2018Organisational Chart as at 30 June 2018

In support of our ministers, the Secretary and five Deputy Secretaries lead the department’s work in Australia and overseas.

The ExecutiveThe ExecutiveThe executive, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. (L. to R.) Deputy Secretaries Caroline Millar, Richard Maude and Clare Walsh, Secretary Frances Adamson, Deputy Secretaries Christopher Langman and Penny Williams PSM [DFAT/Linda Roche]