Go to top of page

The portfolio

The following details provide an overview of the Finance portfolio and a summary of changes that occurred within the portfolio in 2018–19.

Portfolio ministers

These ministers were responsible for the Finance portfolio and its agencies during the reporting period 2018–19:

Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance (from 29 May 2019)
Minister for Finance and the Public Service (from 28 August 2018 to 29 May 2019)
Special Minister of State (from 20 December 2017 to 23 August 2018)
Minister for Finance (from 18 September 2013 to 23 August 2018)

Senator the Hon Zed Seselja
Assistant Minister for Finance, Charities and Electoral Matters (from 29 May 2019)
Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance (from 28 August 2018 to 29 May 2019)

The Hon Alex Hawke MP
Special Minister of State (from 28 August 2018 to 29 May 2019)

The Hon David Coleman MP
Assistant Minister for Finance (from 20 December 2017 to 28 August 2018)

(Changes to the portfolio are a result of the Prime Minister’s announcement of changes to the ministry on 28 August 2018 and 29 May 2019.)1


  1. In the second Morrison ministry, the Minister for Finance performs the ministerial responsibilities previously held by the Special Minister of State.