Go to top of page

The portfolio

The following details provide an overview of the Finance portfolio and a summary of changes that occurred within the portfolio in 2017–18.

Portfolio ministers

These ministers were responsible for the Finance portfolio and its agencies during the reporting period 2017–18:

Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann

Minister for Finance (since 18 September 2013)

Special Minister of State (from 20 December 2017)

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan

Special Minister of State (19 July 2016 – 13 November 2017)

The Hon David Coleman MP

Assistant Minister for Finance (from 20 December 2017)

(Changes to the portfolio are a result of the then Prime Minister’s announcement of changes to the ministry on 19 December 2017.)

1 Senator Cormann assumed the duties of Special Minister of State immediately following Senator Ryan’s appointment as President of the Senate on 13 November 2017, prior to the ministerial reshuffle announced on 19 December 2017.