Go to top of page

Appendix B: Accountable Authority

Period as the accountable authority or member within the reporting period


Qualifications of the Accountable Authority

Experience of the Accountable Authority

Position Title / Position held

Executive / Non-Executive

Date of Commencement

Date of cessation

Number of meetings of accountable authority attended

Mr David Thodey AO


Mr Thodey is a business leader and Company Director focused on innovation, technology and digital, with more than 30 years’ experience including as Chief Executive Officer of Telstra and Chief Executive Officer of IBM Australia and New Zealand. An experienced board director and chair, his current positions include Director of Ramsay Health Care, Tyro, Vodafone Group, Xero and Deputy Chair of the National COVID-19 Coordination Commission.


15 October 2015

14 October 2020

9 of 9 meetings

Dr Larry Marshall


Dr Marshall is a scientist, technology innovator and business Leader with over 25 years’ experience in creating new value and Impact with science. He founded six successful companies in biotechnology, photonics, telecommunications and semiconductors in the United States, and has served on 20 boards of high-tech companies operating in the United States, Australia and China.

Chief Executive/Executive

1 January 2015

30 June 2023

9 of 9 meetings

Ms Shirley In’t Veld


Ms In’t Veld is an experienced Company Director with extensive senior executive experience including as Managing Director of Verve Energy for five years. Previously she held senior commercial, legal and marketing positions with Alcoa, WMC Resources Ltd, Bond Corporation and BankWest. Ms In’t Veld is on the boards of the National Broadband Network, Northern Star Resources and Australian Pipeline Limited.

Deputy Chair/Non-Executive

28 June 2012

27 June 2020

7 of 9 meetings

Dr Michele Allan


Dr Allan is an experienced Company Director with significant skills and competencies in the university, private and public sector and domain expertise in food and advanced manufacturing. Her background is in biomedical science, management and law. Dr Allan is an experienced board Chair including Chair of the boards of Charles Sturt University, Apple and Pear Australia, Food and Agribusiness Growth Centre and Defence CRC for Trusted Autonomous Systems (FED).


5 May 2016

4 May 2024

8 of 9 meetings

Mr Drew Clarke AO PSM

BAppSc Surveying) MSc GAICD FTSE

Mr Clarke is an experienced Company Director offering valuable applied science, public policy and government administration expertise from over 20 years in senior roles in the Australian Public Service, including as Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism and Chief of Staff in the Office of the Prime Minister. He is Chairman of the Australian Energy Market Operator Board, Director on the NBNCo Board and Chair of ACOLA Working Group developing a research plan for the Australian energy transition.


24 August 2017

23 August 2022

9 of 9 meeting

Professor Edwina Cornish AO


Professor Cornish is an experienced director with significant senior executive experience in the research and higher education sector. She brings vast experience in the interface between government, research, science and the higher education sector and provides strong business, industry and financial skills. Professor Cornish played a key role in building one of Australia’s first biotechnology companies, Florigene Limited, which developed and successfully commercialised the world’s first genetically modified flowers. She is on the Council of La Trobe University, a member of the South Australian Productivity Commission (for an inquiry into the State's Health and Medical Research Performance) and the Chair of the University of Queensland - Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (UQ-IITD) Academy Strategic Research Advisory Council.


26 November 2015

25 November 2020

9 of 9 meetings

Ms Kathryn Fagg AO

BE (Hons) Chem Eng MCom (Hons) FTSE GAICD

Ms Fagg, an experienced director, senior executive and engineer, has worked in logistics, manufacturing, resources, banking and professional services, including with Linfox, BlueScope Steel and the ANZ Banking Group. Her current board positions include Chair of Boral and Breast Cancer Network Australia and member of the boards of Myer Foundation, National Australia Bank and Djerriwarrh Investments. Formerly Ms Fagg was on the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia (2013–18).


2 August 2018

1 August 2023

8 of 9 meetings

Mr David Knox

BSc (Hons) Mech Eng MBA FIE Aust FTSE GAICD

Mr Knox, an experienced executive with background in oil and gas, is the Chair of Snowy Hydro among other positions. He was Managing Director and Chief Executive of Australian Naval Infrastructure (until 3 April 2020), Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Santos Limited (2008- 2015). He is Chair of The Australian Centre for Social Innovation, and a Director of Migration Council Australia, Adelaide Festival Board, Redflow and Micro X.


5 May 2016

4 May 2024

8 of 9 meetings

Professor Tanya Monro


Professor Monro is the Chief Defence Scientist. She was previously Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation and an Australian Research Council Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow at the University of South Australia. Her experience at senior levels in industry and educational institutions includes research in photonics focusing on sensing, lasers and new classes of optical fibres. Professor Monro is a director of Red Chip Photonics, Science Patron of the National Youth Science Forum, a member of the South Australian Premier’s Economic Advisory Council and National Committee for Physics.


25 February 2016

24 February 2021

6 of 9 meetings

Dr Peter Riddles AM

BSc (Hons) PhD Grad Dip Bus FAICD

Dr Riddles is an experienced Company Director and advisor to various international science organisations including in the United States and the United Kingdom. He has worked as a research scientist in molecular biology in the public sector including CSIRO, on commercialisation and new venture creation and government policy development and strategy. Dr Riddles’ expertise is in biotechnology and entrepreneurship in the higher education and research sectors. His other roles include member of the Science and Industry Endowment Fund Advisory Council, advisor to the Queensland Government on the next generation of the Boggo Road Precinct and Advisory Board member of the Circular Economy Laboratory.


24 April 2014

23 April 2022

9 of 9 meetings