Go to top of page

Our structure

The term Clean Energy Regulator refers to:

  • The Regulator Board: This is the government-appointed Regulator, comprising the Chair and Members, which sets the strategic direction for our agency and is accountable for our regulatory decisions. See Part five – Management and accountability for more information about the operations of the Regulator Board.
  • The agency: Our agency supports the Regulator Board to perform its responsibilities and is led by the Chair in his capacity as agency head.

Figure 3: Our organisational structure as at 30 June 2020  Karen Najjar

Our executive

The Clean Energy Regulator is led by David Parker, Chair and is supported by our Strategic Leadership Team.

Mr David Parker AM

Mr Parker was appointed by the Minister as the Chair from 3 July 2017 and is the ‘accountable authority’ as defined by the PGPA Act. See Regulator Board Members for more information.

Ms Shayleen Thompson
Executive General Manager, Scheme Operations Division

Ms Thompson joined the agency on 16 July 2018. She has extensive experience in international and domestic climate change policy with both the Commonwealth and state governments.

Prior to joining the agency, Ms Thompson led policy development work on the Carbon Farming Initiative and the Emissions Reduction Fund before taking on the role of acting Chief Executive Officer of the Climate Change Authority. In that role, Ms Thompson led work on the Authority’s review of the Emissions Reduction Fund and Australia’s policies and goals to meet its emissions reduction commitments under the Paris Agreement.

Previously, Ms Thompson served as a lead negotiator on land issues for the Kyoto Protocol and has worked on the National Greenhouse Gas Inventory, the National Greenhouse and Energy Reporting scheme and the Renewable Energy Target.

Mr Mark Williamson
Executive General Manager, Scheme Support Division

Mr Williamson joined the agency in August 2012, following an extensive career including senior executive roles in the private sector and state and local government.

He previously held a national commercial and technical senior executive role in an ASX 200 company and was Executive Director at the Queensland Environmental Protection Agency, leading its regulatory operations across a diverse range of environmental legislation.

Mr Williamson has qualifications in applied science and post-graduate management qualifications.

Mr Geoff Purvis-Smith
General Counsel

Mr Purvis-Smith joined the agency as General Counsel in June 2012.

Mr Purvis-Smith has extensive experience as a regulatory lawyer, having worked in several Commonwealth agencies including the Australian Customs and Border Protection Service, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and the Australian Communications and Media Authority. Before joining the Australian Public Service, Mr Purvis-Smith was a private sector lawyer specialising in litigation, regulation and government.

Mr Purvis-Smith holds degrees in arts and law and a master’s degree in international law.

Ms Karen Najjar
Chief Operations Officer

Ms Najjar commenced as Chief Operations Officer on 1 July 2019.

Immediately prior to her appointment, Ms Najjar was a member of the North Queensland Livestock Industry Recovery Agency (NQLIRA) taskforce within the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet as the Executive Officer to the Chief Executive Officer, the Honourable Shane L Stone AC PDGK QC.

Prior to this, Ms Najjar was with the agency from 2012, undertaking several roles including Executive Officer to the Chief Executive Officer and Chair, Mr David Parker AM, and Manager responsible for liaison with the Department of the Environment and Energy on policy matters and the agency’s input to the Emissions Reduction Fund.

Portfolio and minister

As at 30 June 2020, the Clean Energy Regulator operated within the Industry, Science, Energy and Resources Portfolio, reporting to the Hon Angus Taylor MP as Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction.

We were accountable to the Hon Angus Taylor MP as Minister for Energy under the Environment and Energy Portfolio between 1 July 2019 to 1 February 2020. On this date, the Hon Angus Taylor MP was appointment Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction under the Industry, Science, Energy and Resources Portfolio.