Go to top of page

Our Board

Steven Skala AO, Chair

Mr Skala has a distinguished career of service on the boards of public, private, not-for-profit and government organisations, with more than 35 years’ experience in the law, business and banking.

Mr Skala is Vice Chairman, Australia of Deutsche Bank and served as a partner focusing on corporate, banking and commercial law in two leading Australian law firms for more than 20 years. A former Chairman of Film Australia Ltd, Hexima Ltd, Island Food Company Ltd and Wilson Group Ltd, Mr Skala is also a former Director of the ABC, the Channel Ten Group and Max Capital Group Ltd. Mr Skala currently Chairs the Heide Museum of Modern Art, is Deputy Chair of the General Sir John Monash Foundation, a Director of The Centre for Independent Studies, and a Member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art NYC. Mr Skala was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2010 in recognition of his service to the arts, business and commerce, and to the community.

Mr Skala was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.

The CEFC Board thanks our CEO Ian Learmonth, the Executive, and all the staff who are dedicated to helping the CEFC invest in Australia’s clean energy transition. They know how important their work is and this is reflected in everything they do.

Steven Skala AO
Chair, CEFC

Leeanne Bond

Ms Bond is one of Australia's leading engineers and has extensive experience in the water and energy sectors in Queensland and the Northern Territory.

Ms Bond is Chair of Synertec Corporation and serves on the boards of Snowy Hydro, Liquefied Natural Gas Ltd and JKTech Pty Ltd.She was previously Chair of Brisbane Water, has served on the board of Coffey International Limited and held board positions on a number of water and energy businesses.

Ms Bond was awarded Australian Professional Engineer of the Year in 2007. She is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an honorary fellow of Engineers Australia.

Ms Bond was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.

Philip Coffey

Mr Coffey has extensive experience across the financial services sector, with a distinguished career in senior roles in banking, including funds management, balance sheet management and risk management.

Mr Coffey is a non-executive Director of Macquarie Group Limited and Macquarie Bank Limited, and a non-executive Director of Lend Lease Corporation Limited. Mr Coffey served as an Executive of Westpac Banking Corporation for over 15 years, as Group Executive Westpac institutional bank, CFO and Deputy CEO. As Deputy CEO he was responsible for the Mergers and Acquisitions function, as well as Westpac relationships with industry groups, regulators, customers and government. Mr Coffey began his career at the Reserve Bank of Australia and also held executive positions at Citibank.

Mr Coffey was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 1 February 2018 for five years.

Laura Reed

Ms Reed has more than 20 years’ experience in the energy infrastructure sector, including as Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of Spark Infrastructure.

Ms Reed is Chair of ERIC Alpha Holdings Pty Ltd and its subsidiaries, which owns the NSW government’s 49 per cent stake in Ausgrid. In addition, she is a Director and a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee and the Safety, Risk and Compliance Committee of Ausgrid.

Ms Reed is also Chair of Epic Energy, which owns the Moomba to Adelaide gas transmission pipeline in South Australia, as well as a director of Canadian Utilities, Plus ES Partnership, ATCO Australia Pty Ltd and ATCO Gas Australia GP Pty Ltd.

Ms Reed was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 1 February 2018 for five years.

Andrea Slattery

Mrs Slattery is a recognised leader in Australia’s financial services, superannuation, investment and retirement sectors, having led the growth of the Self-Managed Super Fund (SMSF) sector as founder and former Managing Director/CEO of the SMSF Association.

An experienced director, she has served on boards and advisory committees in the publicly scrutinised, high-profile and highly regulated environments of the ASX, commercial, government and not-for-profit sectors. Mrs Slattery has been involved in the infrastructure, government relations, energy and innovation sectors and has more than 25 years experience as a non-executive director, managing director, advisor and business owner.

She currently serves on the Board of AMP Limited and is Chair of its Audit Committee. Mrs Slattery is also on the board of Argo Global Listed Infrastructure and is Vice Chairman of the Woomera Prohibited Area Advisory Board. Previously, she was a Director of ASX-listed Centrepoint Alliance Limited. Mrs Slattery was named Australian Woman of the Year in the Australian Women in Financial Services Awards in 2014.

Mrs Slattery was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 1 February 2018 for five years.

Samantha Tough

Ms Tough has had a distinguished and varied career in the energy and resources industries in Western Australia, as both a director and senior executive.

Ms Tough currently serves on the boards of Synergy, Saracen Mineral Holdings Ltd and Ox Mountain Pty Ltd. Ms Tough was previously Chair of Retail Energy Market Company Ltd, Structerre Pty Ltd, Molopo Energy Ltd, Aerison Pty Ltd and Southern Cross Goldfields Ltd.

Ms Tough has held a variety of senior executive roles at Woodside Energy, Hardman Resources, the Commonwealth Bank and the Pilbara Power Project.

Ms Tough was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.

Nicola Wakefield Evans

Ms Wakefield Evans is a non-executive director of Macquarie Group Ltd, Lend Lease Corporation Ltd and the national board of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is also a member of the Takeovers Panel and is on the boards of the University of New South Wales Foundation and Chief Executive Women.

Ms Wakefield Evans has almost 30 years legal experience, including as a senior partner at King & Wood Mallesons where she held a variety of part-time and full-time management positions. Ms Wakefield Evans’ key areas of industry expertise include resources and energy, infrastructure, airports, financial services, technology and media and communication.

Ms Wakefield Evans was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.