Go to top of page

Responsible minister

The responsible minister is Hon Ken Wyatt AM, MP, Minister for Indigenous Australians. He is the first Aboriginal Commonwealth cabinet minister and the minister responsible for the new National Indigenous Australians Agency (NIAA). The NIAA leads and co- ordinates Commonwealth policy development, program design and implementation and service delivery for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, and advises the prime minister and the Minister Wyatt on whole-of-government priorities for these citizens.