Go to top of page

Organisational structure (as text)

The following lists the reporting responsibilities within the ATO, by group and business area.

ATO Organisational Structure, as at 30 June 2021

The ATO is structured into five groups, each reporting to a member of the ATO Executive. Each group consists of a number of business areas.

Commissioner of Taxation

Commissioner of Taxation and
Registrar of the Australian Business Register
and the Australian Business Register Services

Chris Jordan AO

Client Engagement Group

Second Commissioner, Jeremy Hirschhorn

  • Private Wealth
    • Deputy Commissioner, Tim Dyce
  • Individuals and Intermediaries
    • Deputy Commissioner, Hoa Wood
  • Integrated Compliance
    • Deputy Commissioner, Will Day
  • Public Groups and International
    • Deputy Commissioner, Hector Thompson
    • Deputy Commissioner, Rebecca Saint
  • Small Business
    • Deputy Commissioner, Deborah Jenkins
  • Smarter Data Program
    • Deputy Commissioner, Marek Rucinski
  • Superannuation and Employer Obligations
    • Deputy Commissioner, Dana Fleming (acting)
Law Design and Practice Group

Second Commissioner, Kirsten Fish (acting)

  • Policy, Analysis and Legislation
    • Deputy Commissioner, Louise Clarke
  • Review and Dispute Resolution
    • Deputy Commissioner, Jeremy Geale
  • Tax Counsel Network
    • Chief Tax Counsel, Fiona Dillon
    • Deputy Chief Tax Counsel, Peter Walmsley
    • Deputy Chief Tax Counsel, Karen Rooke (acting)
    • Deputy Chief Tax Counsel, Ben Kelly (acting)
    • Deputy Chief Tax Counsel – Public Advice and Guidance, Andrew Orme
Service Delivery Group

Chief Service Delivery Officer, Melinda Smith

  • Debt and Lodgment
    • Deputy Commissioner, Vivek Chaudhary
  • Client Account Services
    • Deputy Commissioner, Grant Brodie
  • Strategy and Support
    • Deputy Commissioner, Emma Rosenzweig
  • Commonwealth Business Registry Services
    • Deputy Registrar Australian Business Registry Services, Michelle Crosby
Enterprise Solutions and Technology Group

Second Commissioner, Chief Information Officer, Ramez Katf

  • Strategy and Architecture
    • Deputy Commissioner, Matthew Hay
  • Service Operations
    • Deputy Commissioner, Alex Adams
  • Infrastructure Projects
    • Deputy Commissioner, Michael Rowell (acting)
  • Digital Delivery
    • Deputy Commissioner, Chief Digital Officer, Elissa Walker (acting)
  • Enterprise Tax and Super Systems
    • Deputy Commissioner, Narda Phillips (acting)
Enterprise Strategy and Corporate Operations Group

Chief Operating Officer, Head of APS HR Professional Stream, Jacqui Curtis

  • ATO People,
    • Deputy Commissioner, Brad Chapman
  • ATO Finance,
    • Chief Finance Officer, Janine Bristow
  • Enterprise Strategy and Design,
    • Deputy Commissioner, David Allen
      • Independent internal function, Internal Audit, Chief Internal Auditor, Damien Browne
  • ATO Corporate
    • Deputy Commissioner, Sue Sinclair
      • Independent internal function, Fraud Prevention and Internal Investigations, Assistant Commissioner, Janine Clark

The current ATO organisational chart is available on our website at ato.gov.au/ATOorgchart.


The independent internal functions support the Commissioners and, for administrative purposes, are functionally part of Enterprise Strategy and Corporate Operations.