Go to top of page

Board and Committees

The ASC Board is the accountable authority under the PGPA Act. The ASC Act provides for between eight and 13 members, appointed by the responsible Minister, and the Secretary of the Department embracing the Federal Sport portfolio.

At the commencement of the year the Board comprised 13 members, including the ex-officio member. The ex-officio member position was held by Ms Glenys Beauchamp until her retirement from the role of the Secretary of the Department of Health in February 2020. Ms Caroline Edwards was her successor as the ex-officio member for remainder of the financial year.

Vale Andrea Mitchell

A Board member since 2017, Ms Mitchell showed a passion for sport and physical activity throughout her life and helped enrich it at all levels with her service.

Ms Mitchell made a long and outstanding contribution to sport, in particular to her great love, tennis. An Australian Sports Medal in 2000 recognised her service to, and leadership of the sport as President of Tennis West from 1996–2008, as a Director of Tennis Australia from 1997–2008 and as a Director of the Hopman Cup.

Ms Mitchell was the first female President of Tennis West and the first woman to attend a Tennis Australia Board Meeting in a representative capacity. The ASC has long advocated for the increasing recognition of women in all roles across sport, but it is leaders like Ms Mitchell who have truly set this foundation.

Her service to sport reflected her lifelong commitment to the community, for which she was widely admired. The ASC Board extends our deepest condolences to Ms Mitchell’s family and loved ones; her passing is a great loss for Australian sport.