Go to top of page

ARPC engages with global terrorism pools

ARPC’s stakeholder engagement strategy includes developing links with peer terrorism pools
in other countries to share knowledge and experience. This is achieved through membership of the International Forum of Terrorism Risk (Re)Insurance Pools (IFTRIP), an organisation of national terrorism pools.

IFTRIP was formally ratified at the ARPC-OECD Global Terrorism Risk Insurance Conference in Canberra in 2016. Subsequent annual conferences have been held in Paris (2017), Moscow (2018) and Brussels (2019). The 2020 IFTRIP Conference was scheduled to take place in the US capital of Washington DC but will now be run as a virtual event in October 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

IFTRIP 2020 is a global event for those either working in or advising on terrorism reinsurance and risk. The main Conference brings together sovereign-backed terrorism reinsurance pools, industry experts and the wider counter terrorism community.

Dr Christopher Wallace, ARPC CEO, was appointed President of IFTRIP for 2020. Chris’s appointment was announced at the IFTRIP annual conference in Brussels in 2019 and he assumed his new IFTRIP role in January 2020.

“I was honoured to be appointed President of IFTRIP, an organisation which has improved cooperation and goodwill between national terrorism insurance pools at a time of rapidly evolving terrorism trends,” Chris said. “During my tenure as President, I look forward to extending IFTRIP’s membership outreach particularly to Asian insurance markets and highlighting the human impact of terrorism,” he said.

This year’s IFTRIP Conference was rescheduled from June to October due to the travel restrictions imposed as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, and then subsequently altered to a virtual format.

It was Australia’s turn to host the 2021 IFTRIP Conference but, with the 2020 event occurring in a virtual format, Washington will host the 2021 IFTRIP Conference. As is usually the case, the public conference will be preceded by a one-day closed terrorism pools (only) event.

The following institutions are members, observers or invitees of IFTRIP: Australia (ARPC); Austria (GRAWE); Belgium (TRIP); Denmark (FINANSTILSYNET); France (GAREAT, CCR); Germany (Extremus); India (GIC); Israel (ITC); Namibia (NASRIA); Netherlands (NHT); Russia (RATIP); South Africa (SASRIA); Spain (CCS); USA (TRIP); UK (Pool Re), Sri Lanka and Nepal.