Go to top of page

ARPANSA at a glance

Our vision

A safe radiation environment for the Australian community.

Our purpose

The Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) is the Australian Government’s primary authority on radiation protection and nuclear safety. Our purpose is to protect the Australian people and the environment from the harmful effects of radiation, through understanding risks, best practice regulation, research, policy, services, partnerships and engaging with the community.


Established by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Act 1998 (ARPANS Act), ARPANSA commenced operations on 5 February 1999. ARPANSA replaced the Nuclear Safety Bureau and Australian Radiation Laboratory.

Responsible ministers and portfolio

ARPANSA sits within the Department of Health portfolio. The CEO, Dr Carl-Magnus Larsson, is the accountable authority of ARPANSA.

As at 30 June 2019, Dr Larsson reported to the Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians, and Minister for Youth and Sport.

Our outcome

ARPANSA has a single outcome as set out in the Portfolio Budget Statement:

Protection of people and the environment through radiation protection and nuclear safety research, policy, advice, codes, standards, services and regulation.

Our staff

As at 30 June 2019, ARPANSA had 119 ongoing staff, 11 non-ongoing staff and one statutory appointment.


ARPANSA has offices in Victoria (Yallambie) and New South Wales (Miranda). Eighty-four per cent of staff are located in the Victorian office.