Go to top of page

About the Commission

The Australian Public Service Commission (the Commission) is a non-corporate Commonwealth agency within the Prime Minister and Cabinet portfolio. The Commission’s statutory responsibilities, which are detailed in the Public Service Act 1999 (the Act), include:

  • developing, promoting, reviewing and evaluating Australian Public Service (APS) employment policies and practices
  • contributing to learning and development and career management
  • contributing to and fostering leadership in the APS
  • providing advice and assistance on public service matters to agencies
  • promoting high standards of integrity and conduct in the APS.

The Commission supports two statutory office holders—the Australian Public Service Commissioner (the Commissioner) who is the agency head, and the Merit Protection Commissioner. Their functions are set out in sections 41 and 50 of the Act.

The Australian Public Service Commissioner makes staff available to assist the Merit Protection Commissioner in performing her prescribed functions. The Merit Protection Commissioner’s Annual Report follows the appendices to this report.

The Commission also provides secretariat support to the Remuneration Tribunal and the Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal.

This report’s financial statements incorporate the activities of the Commissioner, the Merit Protection Commissioner and the two Tribunals.


The Minister is the Hon Greg Hunt MP, Minister for Health and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service and Cabinet. The Hon Ben Morton MP, Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister and Cabinet, temporarily took on responsibility for public service matters, including the Australian Public Service Commission, from 2 April 2020.


At 30 June 2020, the Commission had an average staffing level (ASL) of 210 employees.