Go to top of page

Details of Accountable Authority during the reporting period Current Report Period (2018-19)

Period as the accountable authority or member


Qualifications of the Accountable Authority

Experience of the Accountable Authority

Position Title /

Position held

Executive / Non-Executive

Date of Commencement

Date of cessation

Number of meetings of the board of the company

John Stanhope AM

BCom (Economics and Accounting), FCPA, FCA, FAICD, FAIM, FAHRI

John Stanhope was appointed Chairman of Australia Post in November 2012 (current term expires in November 2019) and has extensive experience in finance, treasury, risk management and assurance, investor relations and corporate security and investigations. Mr Stanhope is currently Chairman of the Melbourne International Jazz Festival, the Bionics Institute and Port of Melbourne, and a director of AGL Energy Limited. He is also Chancellor of Deakin University. He was previously chief financial officer and group managing director, finance of Telstra, and an executive director of Telstra.

Chairman (non-executive)

November 2012

November 2019


Holly Kramer


Holly Kramer was appointed to the Australia Post Board in October 2015. She was appointed to the role of Deputy Chair in June 2017 (current term expires in June 2020). Ms Kramer is a Non-executive Director of Woolworths, Abacus Property Group, Southern Phone and the GO (Goodes-O’Loughlin) Foundation. In addition, Holly serves on the Board of Trustees of Western Sydney University and the ASIC External Advisory Panel. Ms Kramer has more than 25 years’ experience in executive management, marketing and sales for customer- focused organisations. Her most recent executive position was CEO of apparel retailer Best & Less. Holly has also held senior roles with Pacific Brands, Telstra, eCorp and the Ford Motor Company.

Deputy Chair (non-executive)

October 2015

June 2020


Mario D’Orazio

BA, Grad. Dip. Ed, FAIM

Mario D’Orazio was appointed to the Australia Post Board in March 2019 (current term expires in March 2022) and has extensive executive and board experience in the corporate, philanthropic and not-for-profit sectors. He is currently Chairman of the Australian Institute of Management WA Council, Chairman of the Perth Public Art Foundation, Board Member of the WA Academy of Performing Arts and the Australia Council for the Arts, and Trustee of the Channel 7 Telethon Trust. Mr D’Orazio has strong experience in communications and managing business transformation.

Director (non-executive)

March 2019

March 2022


Bruce McIver AM


Bruce McIver was appointed to the Australia Post Board in December 2015 (current term expires in December 2021). Mr McIver has strong business experience with expertise in transport and logistics in Australia and across the Asia Pacific region. Mr McIver is currently a director of Railway Technology Group, the City of Brisbane Investment Corporation, Intermico and Nimrod Resources Limited. He was most recently the President of the Liberal National Party of Queensland.

Director (non-executive)

December 2015

December 2021


Tony Nutt AO

BA (Hons)

Tony Nutt was appointed to the Australia Post Board in March 2018 (current term expires in March 2021) and brings a depth of knowledge and a range of skills including public policy and budget expertise, strategy development and implementation, and stakeholder relations. Mr Nutt has more than 35 years’ experience advising both Federal and State government, including more than ten years’ service as a Principal Adviser to former Prime Minister, the Hon John Howard OM AC and Chief of Staff to the former Attorney-General, the Hon Daryl Williams AM QC. He was also Federal and State Director of the Liberal Party of Australia, Director- General (Cabinet) and Principal Adviser to the former Premier of Victoria, the Hon Ted Baillieu. He is currently an Adjunct Professor in the School of Arts and Sciences at the University of Notre Dame (Australia) and a member of the council of the National Museum of Australia.

Director (non-executive)

March 2018

March 2021


The Hon Michael Ronaldson


Michael Ronaldson was appointed to the Australia Post Board in May 2016 (current term expires in May 2022) and is a former member of the Australian Parliament, representing the Liberal Party. Mr Ronaldson was a Senator for the state of Victoria from July 2005 until February 2016, and previously served in the House of Representatives as the member for Ballarat from 1990 to 2001. He served as the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, the Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC, and the Special Minister of State, was previously a director of Snowy Hydro Ltd and Berklee Pty Ltd, and was the CEO/Founder of Madison Public Affairs. Mr Ronaldson is currently the chairman of InnoWell and a director of The Oliver Foundation.

Director (non-executive)

May 2016

May 2022


Jan West AM


Jan West was appointed to the Australia Post Board in May 2016 (current term expires in May 2022) and has a very strong background in finance, audit and risk across Australian and international listed and private companies, government agencies and community organisations. Mrs West is currently a director of Dairy Australia and Neurosciences Victoria and is a member of the Audit & Risk Management Committee for the Department of Treasury and Finance (Victoria). She has been President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a member of the Financial Reporting Council and a non- executive director of a number of commercial and not-for-profit entities, as well as being an audit Partner of Deloitte.

Director (non-executive)

May 2016

May 2022


Deidre Willmott

B.Juris, LLB (UWA), LLM (Melb), GAICD

Deidre Willmott was appointed to the Australia Post Board in June 2017 (current term expires in June 2020) and brings organisational transformation, government relations and business expertise to this position. Ms Willmott was CEO of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia from 2014 until 2018. She is a former lawyer and has held senior roles with Fortescue Metals Group Ltd and as Chief of Staff to the Premier of Western Australia. Ms Willmott is a director of the Perth USAsia Centre and Kimberley Foundation of Australia in addition to being a member of the UWA Centre for Rock Art Research & Management Advisory Board.

Director (non-executive)

June 2017

June 2020


Christine Holgate

Group Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director (executive)


Paul Scurrah


Director (non-executive)

June 2017

February 2019