Go to top of page

Members of the Board

Headshot of The Hon Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC

The Hon Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC
Board Chair

Remuneration & Nomination Committee and the Commercial Committee Chair
BSc (Hons), PhD, LLB, D Univ (hon Causa), D Laws (hon Causa)
Chancellor of Bond University and practicing consultant Senior Counsel, mediator and arbitrator. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/hon-dr-annabelle-bennett-ac-sc

Appointed: 21 March 2019
Term concludes: 20 March 2024

Headshot of Ms Penelope (Penny) J Dobson

Penelope (Penny) J Dobson
Deputy Board Chair

Dip Pharm, MPS, MBA, GAICD
Global pharmaceutical executive and business person. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/ms-penelope-j-dobson

Appointed: 24 April 2014
Appointed Deputy Chair: 14 March 2018
Appointed Acting Chair: 1 September 2018 – 20 March 2019
Reappointed: 24 April 2019
Term concludes: 23 April 2024

Headshot of Dr Adrian (Adi) Paterson

Dr Adrian (Adi) Paterson
BSc, PhD
Chief Executive Officer and materials engineer. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/dr-adrian-adi-paterson

Appointed: 1 March 2009
Reappointed effective: 1 March 2017
Resignation announced: 9 September 2020

Headshot of Emeritus Professor Stephen Buckman AM

Emeritus Professor Stephen Buckman AM
BSc (Hons), PhD, FAPS, FAIP, FinstP
Academic and researcher at ANU. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/emeritus-professor-stephen-buckman-am

Appointed: 23 July 2015
Reappointed: 23 July 2020
Term concludes: 22 July 2023

Headshot of Gordon de Brouwer PSM

Dr Gordon de Brouwer PSM
BComm (First Class Hons), MComm, PhD
Senior leader in the Australian Government. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/gordon-john-de-brouwer-psm

Appointed: 4 April 2019
Term concludes: 3 April 2024

Headshot of Professor Brigid Heywood

Professor Brigid Heywood
BSc (Hons), PhD
Vice-Chancellor of the University of New England. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/professor-brigid-heywood

Appointed: 28 June 2016
Term concludes: 27 June 2021

Headshot of Ms Esther (Carol) Holley

Esther (Carol) Holley
Risk & Audit Committee Chair
Non-executive Director and Chair of various Risk and Audit Committees. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/ms-carol-holley

Appointed: 25 February 2016
Term concludes: 24 February 2021

Headshot of Professor Andrew Scott AM

Professor Andrew Scott AM
Nuclear medicine physician, scientist, and academic. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/professor-andrew-scott-am

Appointed: 26 September 2007
Reappointed: 29 September 2011
Reappointed: 29 September 2016
Term concludes: 28 September 2021

Headshot of Andrea Sutton

Andrea Sutton
BEng Chemical (Hons), GradDipEcon
Senior executive in the mining industry. See full bio at https://www.ansto.gov.au/people/ms-andrea-sutton

Appointed: 30 April 2020
Term concludes: 29 April 2025