Go to top of page

Elections to Council

One new Academic Staff representative joined the Council during 2019 – Professor Kate Reynolds was elected on 30 January 2019 as an Academic Staff representative, succeeding Dr Ceridwen (Crid) Fraser, who ceased her tenure as a member of Council on 28 January 2019 to accept an academic appointment overseas.

Undergraduate and postgraduate students of the University elect undergraduate and postgraduate members of Council in a ballot distinct from the presidency of the respective student associations. Notwithstanding the separate ballots, the student bodies also elected their student association Presidents as members of the Council. Mr Utsav Gupta was elected for a one-year term as the postgraduate student member. He succeeded Mr Zyl Hovenga-Wauchope on 4 September 2019. Ms Eden Lim concluded her term on 30 November 2019 and was succeeded by Mr Lachlan Day as the undergraduate student member on 1 December 2019.