Go to top of page

Details of the Accountable Authority


Period as the accountable authority or member within the reporting period

Qualifications of the Accountable Authority

Experience of the Accountable Authority

Position Title / Position held

Executive / Non-Executive

Date of Commencement

Date of cessation

Number of meetings of accountable authority attended

Mr Stuart Richey AM

Master Class IV MED 2 FAICD

Mr Richey AM is a Tasmanian commercial fisherman and offshore services operator. Mr Richey brings a strong leadership style and many years’ experience in marine policy and planning to the Board. As Managing Director of Richey Fishing Company and Richey Services, Mr Richey’s business includes salmon, scallop, squid, and marine charter operations.


21 November 2014

20 November 2022


Ms Jennifer Clark


Ms Clark has an extensive background in business, finance and governance through a career as a Non-Executive Director since 1991 and as an Investment Banker for over 21 years. Ms Clark has been a Board and committee member of a number of companies and Commonwealth Government agencies over the past 28 years including in the maritime, defence and finance sectors.

Deputy chair / Chair, Board Audit Committee

10 February 2015 (February 2014 appointed Chair of the Board Audit Committee)

9 February 2025


Mr Mick Kinley

BAppSc BEng GradDip Leg Australian Chief Engineer Class 1 Certificate MAICD

Mr Kinley became AMSA’s Chief Executive Officer on 27 August 2014 after joining the organisation as a marine surveyor in 1994. Prior to joining AMSA, Mr Kinley had an extensive career with BHP. He started as an engineer cadet with BHP Transport and sailed with the BHP fleet before serving in various shore-based roles, including fleet safety instructor and project engineer.

AMSA CEO Member (ex officio)

27 August 2014

30 June 2024


Mr Peter Toohey

GAICD.STCW III/2, Engineer Class 1 (Motor). Fitter & Turner Trade Certificate

Mr Toohey was formerly Chief Engineer, Brisbane Tugs with Svitzer Australia. He is Secretary for the Queensland branch of the Australian Institute of Marine and Power Engineers. He has participated in eighteen salvages with United Salvage and Svitzer Salvage as Salvage engineer since 1991 until 2015.


17 June 2015

20 November 2021


Ms Jane Cutler

BE Chem&Mat (Hons) MEnvSt MBA FAICD FIChemE

Ms Cutler is currently a Director of the Southern Ports Authority and member of the Health, Safety and Environment Committee. She is Deputy President of the Institution of Chemical Engineers and a member of the WA Division Council of Australian Institute of Company Directors. Ms Cutler has thirty years of Board level and senior executive experience across the public, commercial and not for profit sectors.


10 September 2017

9 September 2020


Mr Anthony Briggs

Master Class 3 (Expired) Marine Engine Driver (MED) 1 (Expired)

Mr Briggs is the founder and former Managing Director of Coral Princess Cruises. Mr Briggs is a Director of the Shipowners’ Mutual Protection and Indemnity Association (Luxembourg) and a member of SMP Finance Committee. He is a former member of Queensland Marine Board Cooperative Research Centre for the Ecological Sustainability of the Great Barrier Reef.


21 November 2018

20 November 2021


Dr Rosalie Balkin AO


Dr Balkin is currently Secretary-General of the Comité Maritime International (CMI), the first woman to be so elected in that NGO’s 120 year history. From 1998 to 2013 Dr Balkin was Director of Legal Affairs and External Relations at the International Maritime Organization (IMO). Prior to joining IMO, she was Assistant Secretary in the Office of International Law, Attorney-General’s Department and held academic positions at universities in South Africa, Australia and the United Kingdom.


21 November 2018

20 November 2021


Dr Ian Poiner

BSc Hons 1A Zoology PhD Zoology

Dr Poiner is the current Chairperson of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and Chair of the Australian and New Zealand International Ocean Discovery Program Consortium. His recent roles include Chair of the Australia’s Integrated Marine Observing System; Marine National Facility Steering Committee; CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere Advisory Committee; and the Reef and Rainforest Research Centre. He has served as the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Institute of Marine Science from 2004 to 2011. He was a member of the International Scientific Steering Committee of the Census of Marine Life from 2002 and it’s Chair from 2007 to 2013. From 2012 to 2016 he was Chair of the Gladstone Healthy Harbour Partnership Science Panel


13 November 2019

13 November 2022


Dr Rachel Bacon

PhD BA (Hons); LLB (Hons) GAICD

Dr Bacon appointed to the AMSA Board in an ex- officio capacity as Deputy Secretary responsible for Regional and Territories in the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications.

Member (ex officio)

19 November 2018



Dr Russell Reichelt


Dr Reichelt is currently the Australian Prime Minister’s representative for the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy; Chairman of NSW Marine Estate Management Authority; a Board member of the Climate Change Authority and the Great Barrier Reef Foundation Limited (pro-bono). He has served as Chairman of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, the Chief Executive Officer and Board member of the Australian Institute of Marine Science and as Chairman of Australia’s Fisheries Research and Development Corporation and Seafood Services Australia Limited; and Chairman of the Commonwealth’s National Oceans Advisory Group.


7 August 2007

11 November 2019