Go to top of page

Audit Committee

The ALRC Audit and Risk Committee is established in compliance with section 45 of the PGPA Act and section 17 of the PGPA Rule. The objective of the Audit and Risk Committee is to provide independent advice to the President on the appropriateness of ALRC’s system of risk oversight and management, its system of internal control, and its financial and performance reporting responsibilities.

The charter setting out the functions of the Audit and Risk Committee is available at: https://www.alrc.gov.au/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/ALRC-Audit-and-Risk-Committee-Charter-as-at-July2021.pdf.

The Audit and Risk Committee is made up of three members, appointed by the President. From 1 July 2021, PGPA Rule section 17(4) requires that all of the members of the Audit and Risk Committee must be persons who are not officials of the Commission; and a majority of the members must be persons who are not officials of any Commonwealth entity, in order to strengthen the independence of the audit and risk committee and broaden its members’ skills (A Guide for Non-Corporate Commonwealth Entities on the Role of Audit Committees, March 2020).

The ALRC Audit and Risk Committee Forward Plan sets a meeting schedule and outlines the activities of the Audit and Risk Committee over the next financial year. The Audit and Risk Committee met in July, September and October 2020, and in March and June 2021. The President renewed Jennifer Clark’s appointment as Chair for a further 15 months to October 2022, and appointed Mr Tim Kelly, Partner in Advisory and Risk at EY. Mr Kelly replaces Ms Lily Viertmann in order to comply with the amended PGPA Rule Section 17 (4). A representative of the ANAO is also invited to attend meetings of the Audit and Risk Committee and in 2020–21 attended each Audit and Risk Committee meeting.

The details of remuneration and meeting attendance for each member of the Audit and Risk Committee during the reporting period are as follows:

Table 9: ALRC Audit and Risk Committee membership 2020-21

Committee Member

Qualifications, knowledge, skills and experience

Number of meetings attended

Total annual remuneration ($)

(inc GST)

Jennifer Clark


Ms Clark has an extensive background in business, finance and governance through a career as an Investment Banker and as a Non-Executive Director. She has been the chair or member of over 20 audit, risk and finance committees in the Commonwealth and private sectors over the past 30 years. Ms Clark is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has substantial experience in financial and performance reporting, audit and risk management.

5 of 5


Cherie Enders

(Independent Member)

Ms Enders’ early career included senior management roles in banking, insurance and funds management organisations before she moved into a large local government authority as a general manager of corporate and commercial operations. Ms Enders is now the Chief Operating Officer for a Commonwealth statutory authority for the regulation of maritime safety. Throughout her career, her work has largely focussed on developing organisations through capability improvement, process redesign and cultural growth. Ms Enders holds qualifications in psychology, financial and business management and HR/organisation development. Ms Enders is a current member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

5 of 5

Nil *

Tim Kelly

(Independent Member from June 2021)

Mr Kelly is a Partner at EY and the Oceania EY Enterprise Risk leader and the leader of the EY Federal Government Internal Audit Practice with over 20 years’ experience specialising in the Australian Government sector. His experience includes Internal Audit; probity; project management; program review; operational audits; performance improvement; compliance and contract management. Mr Kelly is a Certified Internal Auditor and Government Audit Professional and a Professional Member of the Institute of Internal Auditors.

1 of 1


Lily Viertmann

(Independent Member until March 2021)

Ms Viertmann has held senior roles in the Commonwealth and State Government in a number of portfolios including treasury, finance, health, defence, environment and industrial relations. She has over 10 years’ experience as Chief Finance Office in a number of Commonwealth entities. She has a Bachelor of Economics and a Master in Business Administration majoring in Financial Management. She is a Fellow Certified Practising Accountant and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She was, until August 2020, the Chief Finance Officer, Chief Risk Officer and the Chief Audit Executive of a Commonwealth Agency. Ms Viertmann was appointed to Services Australia since September 2020. She is General Manager, Corporate and Cross Government Services.

3 of 4

Nil *

Kathryn Hunter

(Independent Member until July 2020)

Ms Hunter is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales with a background in audit before holding senior finance positions over the last 10+ years across both public and private sectors. Currently employed as the Chief Financial Officer at a Commonwealth agency, Ms Hunter has significant experience in financial reporting, audit and risk management.

1 of 1

Nil *

*Australian public servants are not paid as committee members