Go to top of page

External scrutiny

In 2019–20, no judicial decisions or decisions of administrative tribunals affected the Institute, nor were there any relevant parliamentary committee reports or Ombudsman reports.

The AIC undertakes a risk assessment annually and reviews risks on a regular basis. The Institute is subject to an annual statutory audit performed by the Australian National Audit Office. In addition, regular internal audit reviews are undertaken by an independent consultant. The outcomes of all audits are presented to the AIC’s Audit Committee.

Criminology Research Advisory Council

The Criminology Research Advisory Council was established under 2011 amendments to the Criminology Research Act 1971. This council and its members have no legal, management or financial responsibility for the AIC. The role of the council and its members is to advise the Director in relation to:

  • strategic priorities for criminological research;
  • priorities for communicating the results of that research; and
  • applications for research grants made under the CRG program.

The Criminology Research Advisory Council consists of nine members representing the Australian Government and state and territory governments. This composition ensures that areas targeted for research funding reflect national, state and territory priorities.

In 2019–20 the council met on the following occasions:

  • 26 July 2019, via teleconference;
  • 15 November 2019, in Canberra; and
  • 20 March 2020, via teleconference.

Council members as at 30 June 2020

Mr Anthony Coles, First Assistant Secretary, Law Enforcement and Intelligence Policy Division, Department of Home Affairs

New South Wales
Mr Paul McKnight, Acting Deputy Secretary, Law Reform and Legal Services, New South Wales Department of Justice

Ms Fiona Dowsley, Executive Director, Evidence and Insights, Chief Statistician, Crime Statistics Agency, Victoria

Ms Jennifer Lang, Deputy Director-General, Queensland Department of Justice and Attorney-General (Deputy Chair)

Western Australia
Dr Adam Tomison, Director General, Western Australian Department of Justice (Chair)

South Australia
Mr Adam Kilvert, Chief Executive, Policy and Community, South Australian Attorney-General’s Department

Ms Ginna Webster, Secretary, Tasmanian Department of Justice

Australian Capital Territory
Mr Richard Glenn, Director-General, ACT Justice and Community Safety Directorate

Northern Territory
Mr Greg Shanahan, Chief Executive, NT Department of the Attorney-General and Justice