Go to top of page

Organisational structure

The Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers, is appointed under the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 (Electoral Act) and is responsible for managing and operating the AEC.

At 30 June 2020, the AEC’s Executive Leadership Team was:

  • Tom Rogers, Electoral Commissioner
  • Jeff Pope APM, Deputy Electoral Commissioner
  • Tim Courtney, First Assistant Commissioner
  • Lynn White, First Assistant Commissioner (acting)

An AEC Organisation Chart that includes our senior executive and their responsibilities as of 30 June 2020 is below.

The AEC has a three-tier structure with:

  • a national office in Canberra
  • state and territory offices
  • divisional offices

Section 6 of the Electoral Act establishes a three-person Commission which has exclusive powers, particularly in relation to electoral redistributions, political party registration, and funding and disclosure.

At 30 June the Commission members were:

  • Chairperson: Hon. Dennis Cowdroy AO QC
  • Electoral Commissioner: Mr Tom Rogers
  • Non-judicial member: Dr David Gruen

AEC Organisation Chart

 Mr Tom Rogers Network and Election Operations Division A/g First Assistant Commissioner and National Election Manager (NEM) Lynn White Capability Division Tim Courtney