Go to top of page

Supporting electoral redistributions

A redistribution of electoral boundaries is undertaken in accordance with Part IV of the Electoral Act. Redistributions ensure— as close as practical—that an equal number of electors are in each electoral division for a state or territory. Each member in the House of Representatives represents an electoral division.

For the 2019 federal election, the number of members was 151 (see figure 2 for a list of Australia’s 151 electoral divisions at 30 June 2019). A redistribution is required when:

  • there is a change in the number of members in the House of Representatives to which a state or territory is entitled to
  • the number of voters in more than one third of the electoral divisions of a state deviates from the average divisional enrolment by over 10 per cent for a period of more than two months
  • seven years has elapsed since the last redistribution

Redistributions are conducted by two bodies: the Redistribution Committee and the augmented Electoral Commission. The Redistribution Committee is responsible for making a proposed redistribution.

Figure 2: Australia’s 151 electoral divisions as at 30 June 2019Picture of Australia, 16 in WA, 2 in NT, 30, QLD, 10 SA, 47 NSW, 3 ACT, 5, TAS, 38 VIC, With the 151 division names listed below picture.

Highlights of the year


In 2018–19 the AEC completed three redistributions:

  • one in the Australian Capital Territory
  • one in Victoria
  • one in South Australia

In December 2018 the AEC placed notices in newspapers in Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. These advised changes to the names and boundaries of electoral divisions and are required under the Electoral Act. Letters were also sent to over 930,000 households advising them that their electoral division had changed.

See appendix F for redistribution process milestones in 2018–19.

Data highlights

  • Three redistributions completed
  • 151 electoral divisions

For more information go to:

  • The performance statement–agency direction one
  • appendix F
  • www.aec.gov.au