Go to top of page

Our stakeholders

We work with a wide range of stakeholders to achieve a shared national outcome of a safer Australia, as shown in Figure 1.3. Our stakeholders include:

  • Australian Government—National law enforcement and intelligence agencies, national security and border security agencies, national regulators, national service delivery agencies and national policy development agencies.
  • States and territories—State and territory law enforcement and intelligence agencies, and state and territory regulators and courts.
  • International agencies—International law enforcement and intelligence agencies.
  • Accredited organisations—Australian Government agencies, private sector businesses, not-for-profit organisations and screening units for working with children or vulnerable people who access the National Police Checking Service.
  • Private sector and community—Private industry, research bodies and academia, and the community.

Due to the collaborative nature of our work, our stakeholder relationships are critical to achieving our purpose. Our stakeholders are important to us, so we seek their feedback regularly. Their feedback contributes to our performance measurement and informs our ongoing engagement. Stakeholder research findings for 2018–19 are summarised in the management and accountability section.

Figure 1.3: ACIC stakeholders

 * Board member agencies. Acronyms shown in footnote to diagram.

ABF = Australian Border Force, ACIC-IGC = Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission-Inter-Governmental Committee, ACTPol = Australian Capital Territory Policing, AFP = Australian Federal Police, AGD = Attorney-General's Department, AIC = Australian Institute of Criminology, ASD = Australian Signals Directorate, ASIC = Australian Securities and Investments Commission, ASIO = Australian Security and Intelligence Organisation, ATO = Australian Taxation Office, AUSTRAC = Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre, DFAT = Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, IGC-ACC = Inter-Governmental Committee on the Australian Crime Commission, ISPs = internet service providers, NSWPF = New South Wales Police Force, NTPol = Northern Territory Police, ONI = Office of National Intelligence, PJC-IS = Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence Security, PJC-LE = Parliamentary Joint Committee on Law Enforcement, PM&C = Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, QPS = Queensland Police Service, SAPol = South Australia Police, TasPol = Tasmania Police, VicPol = Victoria Police, WA Police = Western Australia Police