Go to top of page

Office of the eSafety Commissioner

The Office of the eSafety Commissioner (eSafety) was created to help safeguard Australians at risk from online harm and to promote safer, more positive online experiences.

eSafety achieves this through regulation, national leadership and coordination, research, and educational and awareness activities that promote online safety.

eSafety leads and coordinates online safety efforts across Commonwealth departments, authorities and agencies and is the only government agency in the world solely dedicated to the online safety of its citizens.

The eSafety Commissioner is an independent statutory officer. eSafety is governed by the Enhancing Online Safety Act 2015. Under this Act, the ACMA makes staff available to assist the Commissioner to perform their functions and exercise their powers to such extent as the Commissioner reasonably requires.

Find out more at esafety.gov.au.