Go to top of page

Audit and Risk Committee membership 2019-20

Ms Jennifer Clark (Chair)

Ms Jennifer Clark is the Chair of the Committee. Ms Clark has an extensive background in business, finance and governance through a career as an Investment Banker and as a Non-Executive Director.

She has been the chair or member of more than 20 audit, risk and finance committees in the Commonwealth and private sectors over the past 30 years. Ms Clark is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has substantial experience in financial and performance reporting, audit and risk management.

Mr Peter Achterstraat

Mr Peter Achterstraat AM, BCom, LLB, BEc (Hons), is currently Commissioner of the NSW Productivity Commission and was Auditor-General of NSW (2006–2013) and NSW Chief Commissioner of State Revenue (1999–2006). He has been President of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (NSW Division) since 2014. Peter is a fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, as well as CPA Australia and the Governance Institute of Australia. He has more than 30 years of experience in finance and governance.

Ms Dana Sutton

Ms Dana Sutton is a senior executive in the Australian Government Department of Finance (Finance) with more than 20 years of experience working with government entities including 5 years in private practice as a solicitor. Ms Sutton was Head of Internal Audit in Finance for 5 years, involving responsibility for Finance’s governance framework including the Audit Committee, Risk Sub Committee, and a member of the Financial Statements Sub-Committee and Performance Framework Sub-Committee.

Ms Sutton was also a rotating member of Finance’s Executive Board between 2018 and 2019.

Adjunct Professor John Walsh

Adjunct Professor John Walsh was a member of the Audit and Risk Committee representing the Board. Professor Walsh resigned from Board membership in February 2020. Professor Walsh’s skills, qualifications and experiences are included under ‘Commission’s Board’.