Go to top of page

Overview - Objectives of the Commission

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) is an Australian Government controlled entity. It is a not-for-profit entity. The objective of the Commission is to lead and coordinate health care safety and quality improvements in Australia.

Initially established in 2006 by the Australian, State and Territory governments to lead and coordinate national improvements in safety and quality, the Commission’s permanent status was confirmed with the assent of the National Health Reform Act 2011 (NHR Act). It is a Commonwealth Authority operating under the requirements of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013. The Commission commenced as an independent, statutory authority on 1 July 2011, funded jointly by the Commonwealth, State and Territory governments.

The Commission is structured to meet a single outcome:

To improve safety and quality in healthcare across the health system, including through the development, support for implementation, and monitoring of national clinical safety and quality guidelines and standards.

The continued existence of the Commission in its present form and with its present programmes is dependent on Government policy and on continued funding from Parliament for the Commission’s administration and programmes.